Wheat, Canada Western Red Spring (CWRS)

Order number 2023-18-02


  1. The Canadian Grain Commission (the “Commission”) has authority under section 16(1) of the Canada Grain Act (the “Act”) to establish, by regulation, grades and grade names for western and eastern grain.
  2. Grades and grade names established by the Commission for some grains, in the Canada Grain Regulations, provide for different classes which are, under section 2 of the Act, a variety or varieties of grain designated by order of the Commission.
  3. Pursuant to section 28 of the Act, registration of a wheat variety under the Seeds Act for sale in or importation into Canada is necessary for grain of that variety to be eligible for all grades within a class, and the Commission is satisfied that the varieties in this order are, as of the date of this order, so registered.
  4. The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA), who is responsible for the registration and cancellation of varieties, including designating varieties to a region, has notified the Commission that it has registered the varieties AAC Spike, AAC Walker and AAC Westking. As a result, the Commission has designated these varieties to be in the CWRS class.
  5. The decision in respect of this order was made at a meeting of quorum of the Commission on December 13, 2023. Two of three Commissioners constitutes a quorum of the Commission.

The Commission makes the following order:

  1. Commission Order No. 2023-18-1 – Wheat, Canada Western Red Spring (CWRS) issued September 1, 2023, is revoked and replaced with this order.
  2. The Commission establishes the class Wheat, Canada Western Red Spring (CWRS) and designates the varieties of wheat listed below to be in the CWRS class.
  • 5500HR
  • 5600HR
  • 5601HR
  • 5602HR
  • 5604HR CL
  • AAC Alida
  • AAC Bailey
  • AAC Brandon
  • AAC Broadacres
  • AAC Cameron
  • AAC Connery
  • AAC Darby
  • AAC Dutton
  • AAC Elie
  • AAC Hassler
  • AAC Hockley
  • AAC Hodge
  • AAC Jatharia
  • AAC LeRoy
  • AAC Magnet
  • AAC Prevail
  • AAC Redberry
  • AAC Redstar
  • AAC Russell
  • AAC Spike
  • AAC Starbuck
  • AAC Tisdale
  • AAC Viewfield
  • AAC W1876
  • AAC Warman
  • AAC Walker
  • AAC Wheatland
  • AAC Westking
  • AC Barrie
  • AC Cadillac
  • AC Elsa
  • AC Intrepid
  • AC Splendor
  • Bolles
  • Carberry
  • Cardale
  • CDC Abound
  • CDC Adamant
  • CDC Alsask
  • CDC Bounty
  • CDC Bradwell
  • CDC Envy
  • CDC Go
  • CDC Hughes
  • CDC Imagine
  • CDC Kernen
  • CDC Landmark
  • CDC Ortona
  • CDC Pilar CLPlus
  • CDC Plentiful
  • CDC Silas
  • CDC Skrush
  • CDC Stanley
  • CDC Succession CLPlus
  • CDC Teal
  • CDC Thrive
  • CDC Titanium
  • CDC Utmost
  • CDC VR Morris
  • Coleman
  • Daybreak
  • Donalda
  • Ellerslie
  • Fieldstar
  • Glenn
  • Go Early
  • Goodeve
  • Helios
  • Infinity
  • Jake
  • Journey
  • Laura
  • Lovitt
  • Noor
  • Parata
  • Peace
  • Prodigy
  • Redcliff
  • Rednet
  • Resolve
  • Roblin
  • Shaw
  • Sheba
  • Somerset
  • Stettler
  • Superb
  • SY Brawn
  • SY Cast
  • SY Chert
  • SY Crossite
  • SY Donald
  • SY Gabbro
  • SY Manness
  • SY Natron
  • SY Obsidian
  • SY Slate
  • SY Sovite
  • SY Torach
  • SY 433
  • SY479 VB
  • SY637
  • Thorsby
  • Tracker
  • Waskada
  • WR859 CL
  • Zealand

This order comes into effect on the later of the crop year commencing August 1, 2023, or the signing date, and is in effect until July 31, 2024, unless revoked earlier.

This order may be executed and delivered via facsimile or PDF and in any number of counterparts, each of which shall be deemed to be an original and all of which taken together shall be deemed to constitute one and the same instrument, and it shall not be necessary in making proof of this order to produce or account for more than one such counterpart.

Doug Chorney
Chief Commissioner

Patty Rosher
Assistant Chief Commissioner

Lonny McKague

Signed on: December 13, 2023

In accordance with Section 28 of the Canada Grain Act, varieties not designated by the Canadian Grain Commission to a specific class or varieties which are not a registered variety under the Seeds Act will only be eligible for the lowest grade for that kind of grain.

Date modified: