Canada Western Hard White Spring (CWHWS)

Order number 2018-20

July 31, 2018


  1. The Canadian Grain Commission (the “Commission”) has authority under section 16(1) of the Canada Grain Act (the “Act”) to establish, by regulation, grades and grade names for western and eastern grain.
  2. Grades and grade names established by the Commission for some grains, in the Canada Grain Regulations, provide for different classes which are, under section 2 of the Act, a variety or varieties of grain designated by order of the Commission.

The Commission makes the following order:

  1. Canada Western Hard White Spring (CWHWS) is established as a class.
  2. The varieties of wheat listed below are designated to be in the CWHWS class.
  • AAC Cirrus
  • AAC Iceberg
  • AAC Whitefox
  • CDC Whitewood
  • Kanata
  • Snowbird
  • Snowstar
  • Whitehawk

This order will be in effect for the crop year commencing August 1, 2018 and continuing until July 31, 2019, unless revoked earlier.

Patti Miller
Chief Commissioner

Doug Chorney
Assistant Chief Commissioner

Lonny McKague

In accordance with Section 28 of the Canada Grain Act, varieties not designated by the Canadian Grain Commission to a specific class or varieties which are not a registered variety under the Seeds Act will only be eligible for the lowest grade for that kind of grain.

Date modified: