Canada Western Special Purpose (CWSP)

Order number 2018-16-3


  1. The Canadian Grain Commission (the “Commission”) has authority under section 16(1) of the Canada Grain Act (the “Act”) to establish, by regulation, grades and grade names for western and eastern grain.
  2. Grades and grade names established by the Commission for some grains, in the Canada Grain Regulations, provide for different classes which are, under section 2 of the Act, a variety or varieties of grain designated by order of the Commission.
  3. The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA), who is responsible for the registration and cancellation of varieties, including designating varieties to a region, has notified the Commission that it has registered the variety WPB Whistler. As a result, the Commission has designated the variety WPB Whistler to be in the CWSP class.

The Commission makes the following order:

  1. Commission Order No. 2018-16-2 – Canada Western Special Purpose (CWSP) issued December 31, 2018 is revoked and replaced with this order.
  2. The Commission established the class Canada Western Special Purpose (CWSP) and designates the varieties of wheat listed below to be in the CWSP class.
  • AAC Awesome
  • AAC Proclaim
  • AAC Innova
  • AAC NRG097
  • Accipiter
  • Alderon
  • Broadview
  • CDC Clair
  • CDC Falcon
  • CDC Harrier
  • CDC Kestrel
  • CDC Kinley
  • CDC NRG003
  • CDC Primepurple
  • CDC Ptarmigan
  • CDC Raptor
  • CDC Throttle
  • CharingFootnote 1
  • Minnedosa
  • NRG010
  • Pasteur
  • Peregrine
  • Pintail
  • Sparrow
  • Sunrise
  • Swainson
  • SY087
  • WFT 603
  • WPB Whistler

This order will be in effect for the crop year commencing August 1, 2018 and continuing until July 31, 2019, unless revoked earlier.

Patti Miller
Chief Commissioner

Doug Chorney
Assistant Chief Commissioner

Lonny McKague

In accordance with Section 28 of the Canada Grain Act, varieties not designated by the Canadian Grain Commission to a specific class or varieties which are not a registered variety under the Seeds Act will only be eligible for the lowest grade for that kind of grain.

Date modified: