Canada Eastern Red Spring (CERS)

Order number 2018-06-6 - Variety designation list

May 15, 2019


  1. The Canadian Grain Commission (the “Commission”) has authority under section 16(1) of the Canada Grain Act (the “Act”) to establish, by regulation, grades and grade names for western and eastern grain.
  2. Grades and grade names established by the Commission for some grains, in the Canada Grain Regulations, provide for different classes which are, under section 2 of the Act, a variety or varieties of grain designated by order of the Commission.
  3. The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA), who is responsible for the registration and cancellation of varieties, including designating varieties to a region, has notified the Commission that it has registered the variety AAC Harlaka. As a result, the Commission has designated the variety AAC Harlaka to be in the CERS class.

The Commission makes the following order:

  1. Commission Order No. 2018-06-5 – Canada Eastern Red Spring (CERS) issued March 25, 2019 is revoked and replaced with this order.
  2. The Commission establishes the class Canada Eastern Red Spring (CERS) and designates the varieties of wheat listed below to be in the CERS class.

This order will be in effect for the crop year commencing July 1, 2018 and continuing until June 30, 2019, unless revoked earlier.

Patti Miller
Chief Commissioner

Lonny McKague

In accordance with Section 28 of the Canada Grain Act, varieties not designated by the Canadian Grain Commission to a specific class or varieties which are not a registered variety under the Seeds Act will only be eligible for the lowest grade for that kind of grain.

Date modified: