Western Standards Committee members

Composition of committee

The committee is made up of:

  • 12 grain producers
  • 3 Canadian Grain Commission staff
    • a commissioner
    • a grain inspector
    • a scientist
  • 2 members nominated by the Deputy Minister of Agriculture
  • 2 grain processors
  • 3 grain exporters
  • 3 others appointed by the Canadian Grain Commission

If you have any concerns related to the grading system, contact the member organization that represents you to have your concerns forwarded to the Western Standards Committee.

List of members

This list of members is current as of April 2018.

Chair

Representing the Canadian Grain Commission

Representing Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

  • Doug Winmill
    Canadian Food Inspection Agency
    421 Downey Road, Floor 3, Room 301
    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7N 4L8
    Telephone: 306-385-4936
    Fax: 306-385-4943
    Email: doug.winmill@inspection.gc.ca

  • Felicitas Katepa-Mupondwa
    Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
    440 University Ave, Floor 3, Room 342A
    Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4N6
    Telephone: 902-370-1397
    Fax: 902-370-1444
    Email: felicitas.katepa-mupondwa@agr.gc.ca

Representing processors of grain

  • Kevin Sich (Processor)
    Brewing and Malting Barley Research Institute
    21 Downing Close
    Red Deer, AB T4R 3J9
    Telephone: 403-357-9807
    Email: ksich@rahr.com

  • Caalen Covey (Processor)
    (Canadian National Millers Association)
    713 Redwood Crescent
    Warman, SK S0K 4S2
    Telephone: 306-665-7127
    Email: caalen.covey@ardentmills.com

Representing exporters of grain

  • Robert Tkatchuk (Exporter)
    (Canadian Grain and Oilseed Exporters Association)
    800 – 423 Main Street
    Winnipeg, MB R3B 1B3
    Telephone: 204-272-6601
    Email: robert_tiatchuk@g3.ca

Representing producers of western grain

  • Justin Bell
    Alberta Wheat Commission
    Box 766
    Rosebud, AB T0J 2T0
    Telephone: 204-376-5180
    Fax: 204-376-5217
    Email: jbell@albertawheat.com

  • Fred Greig
    Manitoba Crop Alliance
    Post Office Box 190
    Reston, Manitoba R0M 1X0
    Telephone: 204-877-3813
    Email: fgreig@mymts.net

  • Steven Donald
    Canadian Federation of Agriculture
    Box 911
    Moosomin, SK S0G 3N0
    Telephone: 306-435-9458
    Email: steve.donald650@outlook.com

  • Rodney Volk
    Alberta Pulse Growers
    Box 21
    Burdett, AB T0K 0J0
    Telephone: 403-308-8455
    Email: rvolk@pulse.ab.ca

  • Allen Kuhlmann
    Saskatchewan Barley Development Commission
    Bay 6A – 3602 Taylor Street East
    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7H 5H9
    Telephone: 306-582-2001
    Fax: 306-244-4497
    Email: skuhlmann@sasktel.net

  • Shane Stokke
    Saskatchewan Flax Development Commission
    Box 1315
    Watrous, SK S0K 4T0
    Telephone: 306-946-4044
    Email: ssc@yourlink.ca

  • Jason Lenz
    Alberta Barley Commission
    R. R. #1
    Bentley, AB T0C 0J0
    Telephone: 403-748-4964
    Email: lenzfarms@cciwireless.ca

  • Ernie Sirski
    Manitoba Pulse Growers Association
    Post Office Box 121
    Dauphin, Manitoba R7N 2T9
    Email: esirski@explorenet.com

  • Ken Rosaasen
    Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission
    Suite 310-111 Research Drive,
    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7N 3R2
    Telephone: 306-242-8103
    Email: kenandelsie@baudoux.ca

  • Clayton Harder
    Canadian Canola Growers Association
    180 McKay Road
    Narol, MB R1C 0A5
    Telephone: 204-470-3021
    Email: clayrharder@hotmail.com

  • Chad Doerksen
    Saskatchewan Pulse Growers
    Box 111
    Dalmeny, SK S0K 1E0
    Telephone: 306-668-5556
    Email: c.doerksen@sasktel.net

Additional members

  • Kevin Hursh

    Inland Terminal Association of Canada
    566 Adilman Drive
    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 7H5
    Telephone: 306-933-0138
    Email: kevin@hursh.ca

  • Ian Armer
    Terminal Elevator Association
    11168 Wascana Meadow
    Regina, SK S4V 2W2
    Telephone: 306-569-6111
    Email: ian.armer@viterra.com

  • Darren Highfield
    Country Elevators Association
    Paterson Grain
    22nd Floor, 333 Main Street
    Winnipeg, MB R3C 4E2
    Phone: 204-926-9560
    Email: dhighfield@patersongrainc.com

  • Jennifer Marchand
    Canola Council of Canada
    318 Beechwood Crescent
    Saskatoon, SK S7V 1K6
    Telephone: 306-668-5156
    Email: jennifer_marchand@cargill.com

Related links

Date modified: