Western Standards Committee members

Composition of committee

The committee is made up of:

  • 12 grain producers
  • 3 Canadian Grain Commission staff
    • a commissioner
    • a grain inspector
    • a scientist
  • 2 members nominated by the Deputy Minister of Agriculture
  • 2 grain processors
  • 3 grain exporters
  • 3 others appointed by the Canadian Grain Commission

If you have any concerns related to the grading system, contact the member organization that represents you to have your concerns forwarded to the Western Standards Committee.

List of members

This list of members is current as of February 2022.


Representing the Canadian Grain Commission

  • Derek Bunkowsky
    Canadian Grain Commission
    Chief Grain Inspector for Canada
    800-303 Main Street
    Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 3G8
    Telephone: 204-983-2780 / 204-297-8541
    Fax: 204-983-7550
    Email: derek.bunkowsky@grainscanada.gc.ca

  • Esther Salvano
    Canadian Grain Commission
    Director General Grain Research Laboratory
    303 Main Street,
    Winnipeg MB R3C 3G8
    Telephone: 204-983-2764
    Email: esther.salvano@grainscanada.gc.ca

Representing Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

  • Felicitas Katepa-Mupondwa
    Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
    440 University Ave, Floor 3, Room 342A
    Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4N6
    Telephone: 902-370-1397
    Fax: 902-370-1444
    Email: felicitas.katepa-mupondwa@agr.gc.ca

Representing processors of grain

  • Kevin Sich (Processor)
    Brewing and Malting Barley Research Institute
    21 Downing Close
    Red Deer, AB T4R 3J9
    Telephone: 403-357-9807
    Email: ksich@rahr.com

  • Caalen Covey (Processor)
    (Canadian National Millers Association)
    713 Redwood Crescent
    Warman, SK S0K 4S2
    Telephone: 306-665-7127
    Email: caalen.covey@ardentmills.com

Representing exporters of grain

  • Robert Tkatchuk
    (Canadian Grain and Oilseed Exporters Association)
    800 – 423 Main Street
    Winnipeg, MB R3B 1B3
    Telephone: 204-272-6601
    Email: Robert_Tkatchuk@g3.ca

  • Tala Mobayen
    Canadian Special Crops Association
    #601-850 West Hastings Street
    Vancouver, BC V6C 1E1
    Telephone: 604-733-1094
    Email: tala@victoriapulse.ca

Representing producers of western grain

  • Justin Bell
    Alberta Wheat Commission
    Box 766
    Rosebud, AB T0J 2T0
    Telephone: 204-376-5180
    Fax: 204-376-5217
    Email: jbell@albertawheat.com

  • Steven Donald
    Canadian Federation of Agriculture
    Box 911
    Moosomin, SK S0G 3N0
    Telephone: 306-435-9458
    Email: steve.donald650@outlook.com

  • Rodney Volk
    Alberta Pulse Growers
    Box 21
    Burdett, AB T0K 0J0
    Telephone: 403-308-8455
    Email: jhbarfarm@yahoo.com

  • Shane Stokke
    Saskatchewan Flax Development Commission
    Box 1315
    Watrous, SK S0K 4T0
    Telephone: 306-946-4044
    Email: ssc@yourlink.ca

  • Clayton Harder
    Canadian Canola Growers Association
    180 McKay Road
    Narol, MB R1C 0A5
    Telephone: 204-470-3021
    Email: clayrharder@hotmail.com

  • Chad Doerksen
    Saskatchewan Pulse Growers
    Box 111
    Dalmeny, SK S0K 1E0
    Telephone: 306-260-7565
    Email: c.doerksen@sasktel.net

  • Sean Stanford
    Alberta Barley Commission
    Box 672
    Magrath, AB T0K 1J0
    Telephone: 403-795-5728
    Email: sstanford@barleydirector.com

  • Glenn Tait
    Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission
    Box 57
    Miota, SK S0M 1X0
    Telephone: 306-481-4449
    Email: gttait@sasktel.net

  • Shanna Stolhandske-Dale
    Box 66
    Swift Current, SK S9H 3V5
    Telephone: 306-741-9309
    Email: shanna@seedsolutionsseedlabs.com

  • Jean Harrington
    Box 90
    Glenside, SK S0H 1T0
    Telephone: 306-860-7790
    Email: jharrington.pfb@sasktel.net

  • Fiona Jochum
    Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association
    2360 Hwy 26
    St. Francois Xavier, MB R4L 1B4
    Telephone: 204-445-1065
    Email: fionajochum@gmail.com

  • Gregg Fotheringham
    Manitoba Crop Alliance
    Box 368
    Reston, MB R0M 1X0
    Telephone: 204-851-0288
    Email: gfoth74@gmail.com

Additional members

  • Ian Armer
    Terminal Elevator Association
    11168 Wascana Meadow
    Regina, SK S4V 2W2
    Telephone: 306-569-6111
    Email: ian.armer@viterra.com

  • Darren Highfield
    Country Elevators Association
    Paterson Grain
    22nd Floor, 333 Main Street
    Winnipeg, MB R3C 4E2
    Phone: 204-926-9560
    Email: dhighfield@patersongrainc.com

  • Robert Chapman
    Inland Terminal Association of Canada
    603 Colonel Otter Drive
    Swift Current, SK S9H 4Z7
    Telephone: 306-774-6804
    Email: rchapman@swt.ca

  • James Dunlop
    Canola Council of Canada
    300 - 240 Graham Avenue
    Winnipeg, MB R3C 4C5
    Telephone: 204-947-6480
    Email: james_dunlop@cargill.com

Related links

Date modified: