Grain weighing

Weighing services ensure that export shipments of Canadian grain are accurately weighed and that the weighed product is delivered to conveyances as reported on Canadian Grain Commission documentation. Official outward weighing of all grain, excluding shipments to the United States, for export from Canada in ships is mandated by the Canada Grain Act. A Certificate Final is issued on all direct export shipments, except for shipments to the United States. The Canadian Grain Commission investigates cargo complaints against the Certificate Final.

Outward and inward weighing activities are performed according to the Canada Grain Act and Canada Grain Regulations.

Outward weighing

The Canadian Grain Commission provides weighing certification through an oversight program. Official weighing at export involves the weighing of grain under the supervision of a person authorized by the Canadian Grain Commission or in a manner authorized by the Canadian Grain Commission. The Vessel Loading Standard for Official Weighing sets out the requirements and responsibilities of licensed terminal elevators to load direct export vessels to ensure accurate and verifiable weights.

Fees and service standards

Terminal elevators are required to use the following services for direct export shipments.

Inward weighing

Licensed terminal elevators must cause the grain to be weighed upon receipt. If the shipper requests, the grain shall be weighed by a third-party service provider selected by the terminal and authorized by the Canadian Grain Commission.

Measurement accuracy

The Canadian Grain Commission tests, inspects and certifies all bulk weighing systems in licensed terminal elevators to ensure compliance with the Canada Grain Act, Canada Grain Regulations, Weights and Measures Act and Weights and Measures Regulations.

Contacts

For outward official weighing

  • Contact the manager of weighing services in the regional office nearest you.

For cargo complaints against the Certificate Final

  1. Complete the cargo complaint investigation request
  2. Send the request to cgccargocomplaints@grainscanada.gc.ca

Pesée des grains

Les services de pesée font en sorte que le grain canadien destiné à l’exportation est pesé avec exactitude et que le produit pesé est livré vers les moyens de transport mentionnés dans les documents de la Commission canadienne des grains. La Loi sur les grains du Canada prescrit la pesée officielle à la sortie de tout le grain destiné à l’exportation par navire à partir du Canada, à l’exception des expéditions à destination des États-Unis. Un Certificat final est délivré pour chaque exportation directe, à l’exception des expéditions à destination des États-Unis. La Commission canadienne des grains fait enquête sur les plaintes relatives aux cargaisons en fonction du Certificat final.

Les activités de pesée à la sortie et à l’arrivage sont exécutées conformément à la Loi sur les grains du Canada et au Règlement sur les grains du Canada.

Pesée à la sortie

La Commission canadienne des grains certifie la pesée dans le cadre d’un programme de surveillance. La pesée officielle à l’exportation nécessite la pesée du grain sous la supervision d’une personne autorisée par la Commission canadienne des grains ou à l’aide d’une méthode autorisée par la Commission canadienne des grains. La Norme sur le chargement des navires pour la pesée officielle établit les exigences et les responsabilités des exploitants de silo terminal pour ce qui est de charger les navires destinés à l’exportation directe en veillant à ce que le poids soit exact et vérifiable.

Droits et normes de service

Les exploitants de silos terminaux doivent recourir aux services ci-dessous dans le cas des cargaisons destinées à l’exportation directe.

Pesée à l’arrivage

Les exploitants de silos terminaux agréés doivent faire peser le grain au moment de la réception. À la demande de l’expéditeur, le grain sera pesé par un tiers fournisseur de services choisi par l’exploitant du silo terminal et autorisé par la Commission canadienne des grains.

Exactitude de la mesure

La Commission canadienne des grains met à l’essai, inspecte et certifie les systèmes de pesée de vrac aux silos terminaux agréés afin d’assurer la conformité à la Loi sur les grains du Canada, au Règlement sur les grains du Canada, à la Loi sur les poids et mesures et au Règlement sur les poids et mesures.

Personne-ressource

En ce qui concerne la pesée officielle à la sortie

Communiquer avec le gestionnaire des services de pesée au bureau régional le plus proche.

Pour déposer une plainte relative à une cargaison fondée sur le Certificat final

  1. Remplir la demande d'enquête sur une plainte déposée à l'égard d'une cargaison
  2. Envoyer la demande à cgccargocomplaints@grainscanada.gc.ca