Reporting requirements for licensees

The following information describes your reporting responsibilities as a licensed company. If you do not comply with your reporting obligations under the Canada Grain Act and Canada Grain Regulations, you may face fines or suspension of your licence.

Monthly report of licensee’s liabilities to producers

Grain dealer, primary elevator and process elevator licensees must report their outstanding liabilities to producers for grain (as of the last day of the reporting month) to the Canadian Grain Commission on a monthly basis. Reports are due on the 15th of the month following the reporting month.

The report informs the Canadian Grain Commission of the total value of all monies owed by a Canadian Grain Commission licensee for grain received from, or purchased from, producers as at the last day of each month. The Canadian Grain Commission uses the information to establish the amount of security the licensee must provide. Reports are subject to Canadian Grain Commission audits.

Instructions and the Monthly Report of Licensee’s Liabilities to Producers form are available.

Grain handling statistics

Operators of terminal, primary, and process elevators and grain dealers must report their grain stocks and handlings to the Canadian Grain Commission. Requirements for reporting are explained below.

If you need information or instructions on licensee reporting requirements, contact Statistics and Business Information at:

Telephone: 1-800-853-6705
Email: statistics-statistique@grainscanada.gc.ca.

Primary elevators

Weekly reporting of operations

Operators must report their handlings to the Canadian Grain Commission each week, beginning the first week the facility is licensed. The reporting period is from Monday to Sunday inclusive, and reports are due the following Wednesday by 4:30 p.m. (Central Time).

To report licensee operations, use the online reporting service, Primary and Process Elevator Weekly reporting.

Annual reporting of net handlings

Operators must provide an annual report of their net handlings to the Canadian Grain Commission. The reports must be submitted no later than October 15, reflecting all handlings in the previous crop year.

To report net handlings, use the online reporting service, Primary Elevator Annual Report – net handlings.

Process elevators

Operators must report their handlings to the Canadian Grain Commission each week, beginning the first week the facility is licensed. The reporting period is from Monday to Sunday inclusive, and reports are due the following Wednesday by 4:30 p.m. (Central Time).

To report licensee operations, use the online reporting service, Primary and Process Elevator Weekly reporting.

Grain dealers

Grain dealers must report their transactions to the Canadian Grain Commission each month, beginning the second month the grain dealer is licensed. The reporting period is for the previous month, and reports are due by the 25th of the month following.

To report licensee operations, use the online reporting service, Monthly Grain Dealer Report.

Terminal elevators

Operators must report to the Canadian Grain Commission, on a daily basis, elevator receipts and shipments completed from activity in the previous day, beginning the first day the facility is licensed. Note that reported shipments would also reflect vessel loadings completed in the previous day.

Operators must provide a report of their week-ending elevator stocks by grain and major statutory grade to the Canadian Grain Commission on a weekly basis. The reporting period for a business week is from Monday to Sunday inclusive, and reports are due no later than following Wednesday by 4:30 p.m. (Central Time).

Procedures for terminal elevator statistical reporting to the Canadian Grain Commission can be provided by contacting Statistics and Business Information at:

Telephone: 1-800-853-6705
Email: statistics-statistique@grainscanada.gc.ca.

All elevators—tariff reporting

Before the beginning of each new crop year, operators of primary, process, and terminal elevators must provide a schedule of tariffs to be charged at their facility effective the new crop year, or a letter indicating there are no changes or new tariffs. Licensees must report all rate increases and additions to tariffs during the crop year. The Canadian Grain Commission recommended tariff schedule must be signed and dated. Schedule forms are available under Application and reporting forms for licensees.

Obligations des titulaires de licence en matière de déclaration

L'information qui suit décrit les responsabilités des titulaires de licence en ce qui concerne la présentation de rapports. Les titulaires de licence qui ne respectent pas ces obligations aux termes de la Loi sur les grains du Canada et du Règlement sur les grains du Canada s'exposent à des amendes et à la suspension de leur licence.

Rapport mensuel sur le passif du titulaire de licence envers les producteurs

Les négociants en grains et les exploitants de silos primaires et de silos de transformation agréés doivent faire rapport à la Commission canadienne des grains de leurs dettes envers les producteurs mensuellement (état au dernier jour du mois). Les rapports sont dus le 15e jour du mois suivant le mois en question.

Les rapports permettent à la Commission canadienne des grains de connaître la valeur totale de l'argent dû par chaque titulaire de licence pour le grain reçu ou acheté des producteurs en date du dernier jour du mois. La Commission canadienne des grains se sert de cette information pour déterminer la valeur de la garantie que chaque titulaire de permis doit déposer. Ces rapports peuvent faire l'objet de vérifications de la part de la Commission canadienne des grains.

Le formulaire Rapport mensuel sur le passif du titulaire de licence envers les producteurs et les directives pertinentes sont maintenant accessibles.

Statistiques sur les grains

Les exploitants de silos terminaux, de silos primaires et de silos de transformation doivent régulièrement faire rapport à la Commission canadienne des grains de leurs stocks de grain et de leurs activités de manutention du grain. Les obligations en matière de déclaration sont décrites ci-après.

Si vous avez besoin de renseignements ou de directives en ce qui concerne les obligations des titulaires de licence en matière de déclaration, communiquez avec Statistiques et renseignements opérationnels, au :

Téléphone : 1-800-853-6705
Courriel : statistics-statistique@grainscanada.gc.ca./p>

Silos primaires

Rapport hebdomadaire sur les activités

Les exploitants de silos agréés doivent présenter à la Commission canadienne des grains des rapports hebdomadaires sur leurs activités, et ce, dès l'obtention de la licence. La période visée par les rapports va du lundi au dimanche inclusivement et les rapports doivent être présentés au plus tard à 16 h 30 (heure du Centre) le mercredi suivant.

Pour présenter les rapports sur vos activités, servez-vous du service électronique pour produire le Rapport hebdomadaire des silos primaires et de transformation.

Rapport annuel sur les stocks nets manutentionnés

Les exploitants de silo doivent présenter à la Commission canadienne des grains un rapport annuel sur leurs stocks nets manutentionnés. La période visée par le rapport correspond à la campagne agricole et les rapports doivent être parvenus au plus tard le 15 octobre de la campagne agricole suivante.

Pour déclarer les stocks nets manutentionnés, servez-vous du service électronique pour produire le Rapport annuel d’exploitation de silo primaire – manutentions nettes.

Silos de transformation

Les exploitants de silos agréés doivent présenter à la Commission canadienne des grains des rapports hebdomadaires sur leurs activités, et ce, dès l'obtention de la licence. La période visée par les rapports va du lundi au dimanche inclusivement et les rapports doivent être présentés au plus tard à 16 h 30 (heure du Centre) le mercredi suivant.

Pour présenter les rapports sur vos activités, servez-vous du service électronique pour produire le Rapport hebdomadaire sur les grains aux silos primaires et de transformation.

Négociants en grains

Les négociants en grains agréés doivent faire rapport de leurs activités à la Commission canadienne des grains tous les mois, à compter du deuxième mois suivant leur agrément. Les rapports portent sur le mois précédent et sont dus le 25e jour du mois suivant.

Pour présenter les rapports sur vos activités, servez-vous du service électronique pour produire le Rapport mensuel du négociant en grains.

Silos terminaux

Les exploitants doivent présenter à la Commission canadienne des grains des rapports quotidiens sur les arrivages et les expéditions, et ce, dès l'obtention de la licence.

Chaque semaine, les exploitants doivent déclarer à la Commission canadienne des grains les stocks du silo à la fin de la semaine, et ce, par grain et par grade réglementaire principal. La période visée par les rapports va du lundi au dimanche inclusivement, et les rapports doivent être présentés au plus tard à 16 h 30 (heure du Centre) le mercredi suivant.

Pour obtenir la procédure de déclaration de données statistiques à la Commission canadienne des grains par les silos terminaux, communiquez avec Statistiques et renseignements opérationnels, au :

Téléphone : 1-800-853-6705
Courriel : statistics-statistique@grainscanada.gc.ca.

Tous les silos - rapports sur les tarifs

Avant le début de chaque campagne agricole, les exploitants de silos primaires, de silos terminaux et de de silos transformation doivent fournir le barème de leurs tarifs pour la nouvelle campagne agricole ou une lettre attestant qu'il n'y aura aucun changement, ni ajout de tarif. Les exploitants agréés doivent signaler tout changement et ajout de tarif pendant la campagne agricole. Le barème des tarifs approuvés par la Commission canadienne des grains doit être signé et daté. Les formulaires utilisés pour déclarer ces changements sont accessibles à la page Formulaires de demande et rapports pour les titulaires de licence.