The Canada Grain Act establishes the Canadian Grain Commission and gives it the authority to regulate grain handling in Canada. The Canadian Grain Regulations provide greater detail about the rules under which the Canadian grain industry operates.

Memos to the trade, orders, and policies are used by the Canadian Grain Commission to guide or direct the grain industry. The Canadian Grain Commission issues them under the authority of either the Act or Regulations.


Policies establish a framework under which the authority of the Canada Grain Act or Canada Grain Regulations are applied. Policies are effective on the date which they are issued, and are reviewed regularly.

All policies

Trade memos

Also known as Memoranda of the Canadian Grain Commission, memos provide general information and/or instructions. They might include information such as grading instructions and requirements to obtain special permission.

All trade memos


Orders of the Canadian Grain Commission include the variety designation lists as well as other orders. The Canada Grain Act authorize the Commission to make orders, often making exceptions to the general requirements of the statute. They are considered specific application. The Canadian Grain Commission may rescind them at any time.

All orders

Did you know?

Under the Canada Grain Act, the Canadian Grain Commission has the authority to designate the class of grain for which new grain varieties are eligible.

Directives

La Commission canadienne des grains a été instituée aux termes de la Loi sur les grains du Canada, qui lui donne l'autorité de régir la manutention des grains au Canada. Le Règlement sur les grains du Canada expose dans de plus amples détails les règles qui régissent l'industrie canadienne des grains.

La Commission canadienne des grains a recours à des notes de service à l'industrie, à des arrêtés at à des politiques afin de donner des conseils ou des directives à l'industrie des grains. La Commission canadienne des grains les émet en vertu de la Loi ou du Règlement.

Politiques

Les politiques établissent le cadre selon lequel l'autorité conférée par la Loi sur les grains du Canada ou le Règlement sur les grains du Canada est appliquée. Les politiques sont en vigueur à la date d'émission et elles sont examinées régulièrement.

Toutes les politiques

Notes de service à l'industrie

Les notes renferment des renseignements généraux et/ou des instructions. Elles pourraient renfermer des renseignements comme les instructions se rapportant au classement et les exigences d'obtenir une permission spéciale.

Toutes les notes de service à l'industrie

Arrêtés

Les arrêtés de la Commission canadienne des grains inclus les listes des variétés désignées, ainsi que autres arrêtés. La Loi sur les grains du Canada autorisent la Commission à établir des arrêtés, faisant souvent exception aux exigences générales de la loi. Les arrêtés sont considérés comme des applications spécifiques. La Commission canadienne des grains peut les annuler à n'importe quel moment.

Tous les arrêtés

Saviez-vous que?

En vertu de la Loi sur les grains du Canada, la Commission canadienne des grains a le pouvoir de désigner les classes de grain auxquelles les nouvelles variétés sont admissibles.