Interpretation policy

An interpretation policy is an overarching document that outlines the commitments, practices, and tools to be applied by a department or agency when providing Canadians and businesses with information and guidance on regulatory obligations to be met. It also identifies the conditions under which written responses to questions will be provided.

Departmental context

The Canadian Grain Commission is responsible for regulations under the Canada Grain Act, and regulates grain handling in Canada as well as certifies the quality, safety and quantity of export shipments of Canadian grain. Its programs and services support a competitive, efficient grain sector and uphold Canada’s international reputation for consistent and reliable grain quality.

Predictability

The Canadian Grain Commission commits to respond to regulatory questions in a timely manner, providing client-focused, helpful, and consistent responses to regulatory interpretation questions. Responses will be communicated in the form in which they are received (for example, written questions will be responded to in writing).

Plain language commitment

Responses to regulatory questions will be communicated in the official language in which the question was posed. The Canadian Grain Commission will ensure that all information about regulations as well as responses to regulatory questions are clear, relevant objective, easy to understand and useful.

Providing guidance and building awareness

The Canadian Grain Commission’s website includes resources and reference materials regarding the Canadian Grain Commission’s programs and frequently asked questions. The Canadian Grain Commission also builds awareness through direct communication with target audiences about available programs and services. This includes but is not limited to communicating through news releases, web content, information bulletins, advertising, social media, exhibits, events and regional outreach.

Responding to questions

The Canadian Grain Commission welcomes your questions, comments and suggestions. There are several ways for you to contact us to share your comments and ask questions about our programs and services.

Note that verbal and email responses to questions about regulations are not considered legally binding. Written interpretive responses are binding on the Department if all the material facts have been submitted, are accurate, and remain substantially unchanged. Furthermore, the interpretation applies only to the party requesting the interpretation. A written interpretive response to a question about a regulation can take 30 days or longer to receive depending on the complexity of the question. Requests for a written interpretive response must be submitted to the Department in writing.

Service

Service commitment

As outlined in the Canadian Grain Commission’s Mandate, we are an organization dedicated to establishing and maintaining standards of quality for Canadian grain, regulating grain handling in Canada, and ensuring that grain is a dependable commodity for domestic and export markets, from producer to global consumer.

We demonstrate integrity with our stakeholders and employees by taking responsibility for our actions, standing by our decisions and upholding our Values and Ethic Codes. We treat clients and colleagues with dignity, fairness, and honesty and are accountable for our activities and decisions. We are committed to delivering high quality service when responding to questions related to regulatory interpretation because we understand the importance of agriculture to our economy, communities, environment and human health.

At the Canadian Grain Commission, we are:

  • Respectful – treat all colleagues and clients with dignity, fairness and honesty.
  • Client-Focused – provide relevant, efficient and adaptable programs and services for all stakeholders.
  • Responsive – provide timely and courteous services to clients and colleagues alike.
  • Accountable – good stewards of public trust.

Service accountability

Service standards

Service standards are a concrete and verifiable way that the Canadian Grain Commission can demonstrate it is meeting the expectations of our clients. The standards vary depending on the type of service being provided, and are an essential part of the Canadian Grain Commission’s commitment to service excellence. Below is a list of service standards currently in effect:

Mechanisms to track errors and address problems

The Canadian Grain Commission tracks all client inquiries received through its 1-800 Client feedback phone line and received by the Canadian Grain Commission’s Contact email box. Details of these services are documented in an internal Canadian Grain Commission Policy, including follow-up procedures to ensure that inquiries have been dealt with in an appropriate manner.

Staff training

The Canadian Grain Commission provides ongoing support to its employees by providing them with the necessary training to deliver high quality, professional services and to provide information on regulatory requirements.

Stakeholder engagement

Commitment to engage stakeholders

The Canadian Grain Commission is committed to appropriately engaging stakeholders when developing, reviewing or refining practices and materials for providing information and guidance on regulatory compliance and answering questions.

Stakeholder engagement practices

The Canadian Grain Commission will continue to seek stakeholder feedback on regulatory issues, including the Regulatory Interpretation Policy through its existing stakeholder communication mechanisms as well as via this web page.

Improvement

At the Canadian Grain Commission, we are dedicated to making a continual effort to improve our service to Canadians. Improvements to address the priority areas raised by stakeholders via this webpage and other channels along with the associated metrics will be posted on this webpage.

In January and February 2015, the Canadian Grain Commission reached out to stakeholders to seek feedback on current regulatory interpretation practices and areas for improvement. Feedback was also sought via this webpage.

The Canadian Grain Commission continues to engage with stakeholders to identify areas for improvement regarding regulatory interpretation practices. Performance and potential improvements will be assessed regularly as requests are received.

While no feedback has been received, the Canadian Grain Commission remains committed to improving our service to Canadians. Please email your feedback regarding the Canadian Grain Commission regulatory interpretation practices to contact@grainscanada.gc.ca.

To learn about upcoming or ongoing consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit the Canada Gazette and Consulting with Canadians web sites.

For more information

Date modified:

Politique sur l’interprétation

Une politique sur l’interprétation est un document général qui définit les engagements, les pratiques et les outils dont doivent se servir les ministères et les organismes gouvernementaux pour fournir aux Canadiens et aux entreprises des renseignements et de l’orientation au sujet des obligations réglementaires qui doivent être respectées. Ce type de document énonce également les conditions régissant les réponses écrites aux questions posées.

Contexte ministériel

La Commission canadienne des grains est responsable des règlements pris en vertu de la Loi sur les grains du Canada et elle réglemente la manutention des grains au Canada, en plus de certifier la qualité, la salubrité et le poids des expéditions de grains du Canada destinées à l’exportation. Par ses programmes et services, elle favorise un secteur céréalier efficace et concurrentiel et maintient la réputation internationale dont jouit le Canada pour ce qui est de la constance et de la fiabilité de la qualité et de la salubrité du grain qu’il produit.

Prévisibilité

La Commission canadienne des grains s’engage à répondre aux questions touchant la réglementation en temps opportun et à fournir des réponses aux questions d’interprétation des règlements qui sont utiles, uniformes et axées sur le client. Les réponses seront fournies de la même manière dont les questions sont posées (par exemple, réponse écrite à une question écrite).

Engagement à l’égard d’un langage clair

Les réponses aux questions touchant la réglementation seront rédigées dans la même langue officielle que les questions posées. La Commission canadienne des grains s’assurera que l’information réglementaire et les réponses aux questions touchant la réglementation seront claires, pertinentes, objectives, faciles à comprendre et utiles.

Orientation et accroissement du niveau de sensibilisation

Le site Web de la Commission canadienne des grains renferme des ressources et des documents de référence sur ses programmes, ainsi qu’une foire aux question. La Commission canadienne des grains favorise par ailleurs la sensibilisation en communiquant directement avec des auditoires cibles au sujet de ses programmes et services. Les moyens utilisés par la Commission canadienne des grains pour communiquer comprennent notamment les communiqués de presse, le contenu Web, les bulletins d’information, les publicités, les médias sociaux, les expositions, les évènements et la sensibilisation régionale.

Réponses aux questions

La Commission canadienne des grains fait bon accueil aux questions, commentaires et suggestions. Vous pouvez communiquer avec nous de plusieurs façons afin de nous transmettre vos commentaires et vos questions sur nos programmes et services.

Veuillez noter que les réponses fournies de vive voix et par courriel aux questions touchant la réglementation ne sont pas juridiquement contraignantes. Les réponses écrites interprétatives sont juridiquement contraignantes pour le Ministère tant que tous les faits pertinents ont été présentés, qu’ils sont exacts et qu’ils demeurent substantiellement les mêmes. En outre, l’interprétation s’applique uniquement à la partie ayant demandé ladite interprétation. Une réponse écrite interprétative à une question touchant la réglementation peut prendre 30 jours ou plus, selon la complexité de la question. Les demandes de réponses interprétatives écrites doivent être présentées par écrit au Ministère.

Service

Engagement en matière de service

Comme l’indique l’énoncé de mandat de la Commission canadienne des grains, l’organisation se consacre organisation dédié à établir et maintenir les normes de qualité du grain canadien; à réglementer la manutention des grains au Canada; et à faire en sorte que le grain soit un produit fiable à livrer sur les marchés intérieurs et étrangers, du producteur au consommateur mondial.

Nous faisons montre de notre intégrité aux intervenants et à nos employés en assumant la responsabilité de nos actes, en nous en tenant à nos décisions et en respectant nos codes de valeurs et d’éthique. Nous traitons nos clients et nos collègues avec dignité, équité et honnêteté, et nous rendons compte de nos activités et de nos décisions. Nous nous employons à fournir des services de qualité lorsque nous répondons à des questions d’interprétation de la réglementation, parce que nous reconnaissons l’importance de l’agriculture pour notre économie, nos collectivités, l’environnement et la santé humaine.

À la Commission canadienne des grains, nous sommes :

  • Respectueux – Nous traitons nos clients et nos collègues avec dignité, équité et honnêteté.
  • Soucieux du service à la clientèle – Nous offrons des programmes et services pertinents, efficients et souples à tous les intervenants.
  • Attentifs aux besoins – Nous offrons à nos clients et à nos collègues des services courtois dans les délais voulus.
  • Responsables – Nous sommes de bons gardiens de la confiance du public.

Responsabilité à l’égard des services

Normes de service

Les normes de service sont un moyen concret et vérifiable qui permet à la Commission canadienne des grains de montrer qu’elle répond aux attentes de ses clients. Les normes varient selon le type de service fourni et elles font partie intégrante de l’engagement de la Commission canadienne des grains à l’égard du service à la clientèle. Voici une liste des normes de service en vigueur :

Mécanismes de suivi des erreurs et de règlement des problèmes

La Commission canadienne des grains assure le suivi de toutes les demandes de renseignements présentées par l’entremise de la ligne sans frais ou de la boîte de courriel destinée aux clients. Des précisions sur ces services sont fournies dans une politique interne de la Commission canadienne des grains, y compris la procédure à suivre pour confirmer que les demandes de renseignements ont été traitées comme il se doit.

Formation du personnel

La Commission canadienne des grains offre un soutien continu à ses employés en leur fournissant la formation nécessaire à la prestation de services professionnels de haute qualité et à la communication de renseignements sur la réglementation.

Mobilisation des intervenants

Engagement en matière de mobilisation des intervenants

La Commission canadienne des grains s’engage à mobiliser les intervenants de la façon convenable lorsqu’elle élabore, examine ou peaufine les pratiques et le matériel de communication et d’orientation qui visent à assurer la conformité aux règlements et à répondre aux questions.

Mécanismes d’engagement des intervenants

La Commission canadienne des grains continuera de chercher à obtenir les commentaires des intervenants à l’égard des enjeux réglementaires, notamment la Politique sur l’interprétation de la réglementation, à l’aide de son site Web et de ses mécanismes actuels de communication avec les intervenants.

Améliorations

À la Commission canadienne des grains, nous sommes déterminés à déployer des efforts constants pour améliorer les services que nous offrons aux Canadiens. Les améliorations dans les domaines prioritaires indiqués par les intervenants au moyen de la présente page et d’autres voies de communication seront affichées sur la présente page, ainsi que les paramètres connexes.

En janvier et février 2015, la Commission canadienne des grains a communiqué avec les intervenants pour obtenir leur avis sur les pratiques actuelles d’interprétation de la réglementation et les améliorations à y apporter. Elle a également cherché à recueillir des commentaires par le truchement de la présente page.

La Commission canadienne des grains continue de mobiliser les intervenants en vue de cerner les domaines à l’égard desquels des améliorations des pratiques d’interprétation de la réglementation peuvent être apportées. Le rendement et les améliorations éventuelles seront évalués fréquemment, à mesure que l’on reçoit les demandes.

Bien qu’elle n’ait reçu aucune rétroaction, la Commission canadienne des grains demeure déterminée à améliorer les services qu’elle offre aux Canadiens. Veuillez envoyer un courriel à la Commission canadienne des grains pour lui faire part de vos commentaires sur ses pratiques d’interprétation de la réglementation à contact@grainscanada.gc.ca.

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les consultations actuelles ou à venir sur les projets de règlement fédéraux, veuillez consulter la Gazette du Canada ou le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Date de modification :