Test weight conversion charts for Canadian grains

The test weight conversion charts are based on accumulated data over crop years, representing changes in growing environment and crop varieties. The data is limited only by the number of samples available for inclusion. The test weight conversion charts are updated to reflect changes in dominant crop varieties and environmental conditions affecting crop quality. Conversion charts for some crops such as triticale are not available due to a lack of data, or where official inspection does not include test weight as a grade-determining factor, such as for peas and lentils.

Background information on the derivation of the test weight conversion chart

g/0.5 L

Determined using the operational Test Weight methodology outlined in the Canadian Grain Commission Official Grain Grading Guide. The method incorporates a Cox Funnel, 0.5 L container, hardwood striker and digital electronic scale.

kg/hL

Derived from g/0.5 L incorporating Canadian Grain Commission developed regression equations to predict the approximate kg/hL as would have been determined by standard Schopper Chondrometer methodology.

lb/Avery bu (lb/A bu)

Derived by dividing the determined approximate kg/hL by 1.247. The value 1.247 represents the arithmetic relationship between the lb/British Dry Bushel and kg/hL:

  1. 1 British Bushel = 0.3637 hectolitre
  2. 1 kg = 1000 grams
  3. 1 lb = 453.59 grams
  4. kg/hL = 0.45359/0.3637 = 1.247 lb/bu (arithmetic conversion)

Note: Allowing for grain compaction

The Canadian Grain Commission determined approximate kg/hL by definition takes into account the compaction of grain. Conversion to approximate lb/bu from this number will result in the lb/bu figure also allowing for grain compaction... therefore referred to as Avery.

lb/Winchester bu (lb/W bu)

Derived by multiplying the g/0.5 L measurement by 0.1552. The value 0.1552 represents the arithmetic relationship between g/0.5 L and lb/Winchester bushel:

  1. 1 lb = 453.59 grams
  2. 0.5 L = 500 cm3
  3. Win Bushel = 35 200 cm3 = 70.4/0.5 litre container.
  4. The arithmetic multiplier then is 70.4/453.59 = 0.1552

Note: Not allowing for grain compaction

  1. The U.S. Winchester bushel (1.244 feet3) is smaller than the British or Imperial Bushel (1.2843 feet3).
  2. The lb/Winchester bushel is an arithmetic conversion which does NOT allow for grain compaction.

Contacts

For more information on test weight, please contact Statistics and Business Information.

Tableaux de conversion du poids spécifique des grains canadiens

Les tableaux de conversion du poids spécifique sont fondés sur des données accumulées au cours de campagnes agricoles; elles tiennent donc compte des diverses conditions de croissances et de l'évolution des variétés cultivées. Les données portent uniquement sur le nombre d'échantillons retenus. Les tableaux de conversion du poids spécifique sont mis à jour de manière à exprimer les changements apportés aux principales variétés cultivées et la variation des conditions de croissance qui influent sur la qualité des récoltes. Les tableaux de conversion de certaines cultures, comme le triticale, ne sont pas publiés en raison du manque de données ou, dans le cas des pois et des lentilles par exemple, parce ce que le poids spécifique ne fait pas partie des facteurs déterminants des grades dans le cadre de l'inspection officielle.

Renseignements sur le calcul dans le tableau de conversion du poids spécifique

g/0,5 L

Déterminé en suivant les méthodes opérationnelles décrites dans le chapitre sur le poids spécifique du Guide officiel du classement des grains. La méthode exige l’emploi d’un entonnoir Cox, d’une mesure d’une capacité de 0,5 L, d’une baguette en bois dur et d’une balance numérique électronique.

kg/hL

Déterminé d’après le calcul g/0,5 L en se servant des équations de régression établies à la Commission canadienne des grains pour évaluer le calcul kg/hL approximatif, tel qu'il aurait été déterminé par la méthode standard à l’aide du chondromètre Schopper.

lb/boiss. Avery (lb/boiss. A)

Calculé en divisant par 1,247 le kg/hL approximatif déterminé. La valeur 1,247 représente le rapport mathématique entre la livre par boisseau britannique sec et le résultat kg/hL

  1. 1 boisseau britannique = 0,3637 hectolitre
  2. 1 kg = 1 000 grammes
  3. 1 lb = 453,59 grammes
  4. kg/hL = 0,45359/0,3637 = 1,247 lb/boiss. (conversion mathématique)

Remarque : Compte de la compaction du grain

Par définition, le calcul kg/hL approximatif obtenu par la Commission canadienne des grains tient compte de la compaction du grain. En effectuant la conversion au calcul approximatif livre par boisseau à partir de ce chiffre, le chiffre qui en résulte tiendra également compte de la compaction du grain... il est alors désigné comme Avery.

lb/boiss. Winchester (lb/boiss. W)

Calculé en multipliant la mesure g/0,5 L par 0,1552. La valeur 0,1552 représente le rapport mathématique entre la valeur g/0,5 L et la livre par boisseau Winchester.

  1. 1 lb = 453,59 grammes
  2. 0,5 L = 500 cm3
  3. boisseau Winchester = 35 200 cm3 = 70,4/0,5 L (mesure d'un demi-litre)
  4. Le multiplicateur est alors 70,4/453,59 = 0,1552.

Remarque : Pas compte de la compaction du grain

  1. Le boisseau U.S. Winchester (1,244 pi3) est plus petit que le boisseau britannique ou impérial (1,2843 pi3).
  2. La livre par boisseau Winchester est une conversion mathématique qui NE tient PAS compte de la compaction du grain.

Personnes-ressources

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le poids spécifique, veuillez communiquer avec Statistiques et renseignements opérationnels.