Frequently asked questions

Questions about regulations?

We can help. Check out our Frequently Asked Questions about the Canadian Grain Regulations.

1. If I disagree with the grade at a primary elevator, who has the final say over grading?

The Canadian Grain Commission has the final say. If you deliver your grain to a licensed primary elevator and disagree with the grade, protein or amount of dockage assigned to your grain, you have the right to ask the elevator operator to send a representative sample to us so we can assign a grade, protein or dockage that will be binding on the grain company and the producer.

This right is known as Subject to Inspector’s Grade and Dockage. This right does not currently exist if you deliver your grain to a process elevator or sell to a grain dealer.

2. When will grain grading move from a visual basis to falling number?

There are no plans to replace visual grading with falling number. Visual inspection assesses many factors affecting processing and product quality, and it does it quickly and cheaply. Falling number, while important to processors, is only one factor that must be considered when evaluating grain quality. The industry currently uses sprouted kernel assessment as a proxy for falling number. On request we conduct falling number tests on wheat exports.

3. Why is Canada still grading grains visually?

Most countries include a visual inspection component in their grain grading practices. Visual grading may seem subjective in nature; however, it is a reliable method of detecting factors that affect end-use quality and safety. The impact of these factors on the overall quality of grain has been studied extensively in our Grain Research Laboratory. Through this research, we have established acceptable tolerances for various grading factors to ensure the safety and end-use qualities of grain. We are currently working to develop technology which will make grain grading more objective. For this technology to be acceptable, it must be able to work as well in an elevator environment as it does in a laboratory, be affordable and not be too time consuming.

4. Is the Canadian Grain Commission responsible for registering new varieties of grains?

No, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency is responsible for registering new varieties of grains to be grown in Canada. It does so through a series of recommending committees composed of experts in all aspects of the respective commodity’s value chain. The Canadian Grain Commission’s research and inspection staff serve on these committees and provide their expertise. As well, we are responsible for maintaining lists of registered varieties designated for each wheat class, barley, and flaxseed. These lists are known as variety designation lists.

5. Which grains are protected by security at the Canadian Grain Commission?

Producers delivering any of the official grains listed in the Canada Grain Regulations are protected by our security program at licensed elevators. The official grains are:

  • Barley
  • Beans
  • Buckwheat
  • Canola
  • Chick Peas
  • Corn
  • Fababeans
  • Flaxseed
  • Lentils
  • Mixed Grain
  • Mustard Seed
  • Oats
  • Peas
  • Rapeseed
  • Rye
  • Safflower Seed
  • Soybeans
  • Sunflower Seed
  • Triticale
  • Wheat

If you deliver any of the grains on the list above to a licensed grain company and if they are unwilling or unable to pay you, you have the right to submit a claim for compensation through the Payment Protection Program.

However, if you deliver a grain that isn’t on the list to an elevator or grain dealer and they do not pay you, you are not covered under the Payment Protection Program. Similarly, you won’t be covered if you deliver grain of any kind to an elevator or grain dealer that isn’t licensed by us.

Payment for your grain deliveries is protected, but only for a specified period of time. Be aware of the timelines to ensure that you are paid for your delivery.

6. Where can I find information about selling my grain in the United States?

You can find information regarding a number of topics on the Canada-U.S. Grain and Seed Trade web site. Topics include:

  • Finding a Buyer
  • Grading System
  • Contract and Pricing
  • Crossing the Border
  • Regarding the Delivery of Grain
  • Settlement – Payment
  • Check-offs, Taxes and Other Deductions
  • Relevant Regulations and Standards

The Canada-U.S. Grain and Seed Trade web site is not under the control of the Government of Canada and we are providing a link solely for the convenience of users. Details can be found under the Linking to non-Government of Canada websites section of Terms and conditions.

7. Can I grow and sell wheat and barley varieties from the United States?

The Canada Seeds Act and Regulations, administered by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, prohibits the import of any varieties of seed from the United States for commercial production and sale in Western Canada.

To be eligible to be graded as a Canadian class of wheat or barley, the variety you are growing must be on a variety designation list maintained by the Canadian Grain Commission. If you deliver an unregistered variety of wheat or barley to a licensed elevator in Canada, your delivery is only eligible for either the lowest statutory grade of that class, or feed.

However, nothing prevents a producer and a Canadian grain company from negotiating a contract based on quality specifications outside of the statutory grading system for the delivered grain, regardless of the variety.

8. Where can I buy Canadian cereal grains, oilseeds, peas, beans and lentils?

We offer a list of marketing and producer organizations that can provide information and contacts to anyone who is interested in buying Canadian grains.

9. What do I need to do to be able to buy grains from Western Canadian producers?

To be eligible to buy grains from Western Canadian producers, you must be licensed by us. There are several steps you must follow when applying for a licence.

10. Where can I find information on crop production in Canada?

The Canadian Grain Commission provides statistics about grain in Canada, including information about grain elevators, grain exports, deliveries and other grain-related subjects.

For more information about crop production in Canada, including information on crops such as wheat and canola, please visit the following:

11. Where can I find information about how to dry grain safely?
12. Where can I find information about employment opportunities at the Canadian Grain Commission?

Information about employment opportunities in the federal public service that are open to the general public is posted on the Careers in the federal public service web site (Public Service Commission of Canada). Job postings which are open to the general public are included on this site.

Foire aux questions

Des questions sur la réglementation?

Nous pouvons vous aider. Consultez la foire aux questions sur le Règlement sur les grains du Canada.

1. Si je ne suis pas d'accord avec le grade attribué au silo primaire, qui rend la décision finale relative au classement?

C'est la Commission qui rend la décision finale. Si vous avez livré votre grain à un silo primaire agréé et que vous n'êtes pas d'accord avec le grade, la teneur en protéines ou le taux d'impuretés attribués, vous pouvez demander à l'exploitant de silo qu'il nous envoie un échantillon représentatif afin que nous puissions déterminer le grade, la teneur en protéines et le taux d'impuretés. Notre décision sera exécutoire pour la société céréalière et le producteur.

Ce droit est connu sous le nom de Sous réserve du classement et de la détermination des impuretés par l'inspecteur. Actuellement, vous n'avez pas ce droit si vous livrez votre grain à un silo de transformation ou si vous le vendez à un négociant en grains.

2. Quand le classement des grains passera-t-il de la distinction visuelle à l'indice de chute?

On ne prévoit pas remplacer le classement visuel par l'indice de chute. L’inspection visuelle évalue de nombreux facteurs qui influent sur la transformation et la qualité du produit et peut être effectuée rapidement et économiquement. L’indice de chute, bien qu’important pour les transformateurs, ne représente qu’un seul facteur à prendre en considération lors de l’évaluation de la qualité du grain. Actuellement, l’industrie utilise le taux de germination comme indication indirecte de l’indice de chute. Sur demande, nous déterminons l’indice de chute pour les exportations de blé.

3. Pourquoi le Canada continue-t-il de classer les grains visuellement?

La plupart des pays font une inspection visuelle dans le cadre de leurs pratiques de classement des grains. Le classement visuel peut sembler subjectif, mais il s’agit d’une méthode fiable pour détecter des facteurs qui influent sur la qualité à l’utilisation finale et la salubrité. Les chercheurs du Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains ont étudié longuement l’incidence de ces facteurs sur la qualité globale du grain. Dans le cadre de ces recherches, nous avons établi des tolérances acceptables pour divers facteurs de classement afin d’assurer la salubrité et les qualités à l’utilisation finale des grains. Actuellement, nous travaillons à la mise au point d’une technologie qui permettrait d’accroître l’objectivité du classement des grains. Pour que cette technologie soit acceptable, elle doit fonctionner aussi bien dans un silo que dans un laboratoire, avoir un coût abordable et être rapide.

4. La Commission canadienne des grains est-elle responsable de l'enregistrement des nouvelles variétés de grain?

Non, l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments est responsable de l’enregistrement des nouvelles variétés de grain cultivées au Canada. Elle le fait par l’entremise d’une série de comités de recommandation composés d’experts dans tous les aspects de la chaîne de valeur des denrées particulières. Des membres de notre personnel de recherche et d’inspection font partie de ces comités et fournissent leur expertise, le cas échéant. De plus, nous sommes chargés de tenir à jour des listes des variétés enregistrées désignées pour toutes les classes de blé, l’orge, et le lin. Ce sont les listes des variétés désignées

5. Quels grains sont protégés par la garantie fournie à la Commission canadienne des grains?

Les producteurs qui livrent un des grains officiels figurant dans le Règlement sur les grains du Canada sont protégés par notre programme de garantie de paiement aux silos agréés. Voici les grains officiels visés :

  • Avoine
  • Blé
  • Canola
  • Colza
  • Féverole à petits grains
  • Graine de carthame
  • Graine de line
  • Graine de moutarde
  • Graine de tournesol
  • Grain mélangé
  • Haricots
  • Lentilles
  • Maïs
  • Orge
  • Pois
  • Pois chiche
  • Sarrasin
  • Seigle
  • Soya
  • Triticale

Si vous livrez un des grains susmentionnés à une compagnie agréée et que celle-ci refuse ou est incapable de vous payer, vous pouvez présenter une demande de dédommagement dans le cadre du Programme de protection des paiements aux producteurs.

Cependant, si vous livrez du grain qui ne figure pas sur la liste à un silo ou à un négociant en grains et que celui-ci ne vous paie pas, vous n'êtes pas protégé dans le cadre du Programme de protection des paiements aux producteurs. De même, vous n'êtes pas protégé si vous livrez du grain à un silo ou à négociant en grains que nous n'avons pas agréé.

Le paiement de vos livraisons de grain est protégé, mais seulement pendant une période précise. Renseignez-vous sur les échéanciers afin de vous assurer d’être payé pour votre livraison de grain.

6. Où puis-je trouver de plus amples renseignements sur la vente mon grain aux États-Unis?

Vous pouvez trouver de l'information sur de nombreux sujets sur le site Web Canada-U.S. Grain and Seed Trade (anglais seulement), notamment :

  • Recherche d'un acheteur
  • Système de classement
  • Contrats et prix
  • Douanes
  • Livraison du grain
  • Règlement – Paiement
  • Prélèvement, taxes et autres déductions
  • Règlements et normes

Le site Web Canada-U.S. Grain and Seed Trade ne relève pas du gouvernement du Canada, et nous fournissons le lien aux utilisateurs uniquement pour des raisons de commodité. Les détails de notre politique sur les hyperliens se trouvent sous la rubrique Hyperliens vers des sites Web autres que ceux du gouvernement du Canada de la section Avis.

7. Puis-je cultiver et vendre des variétés de blé et d'orge des États-Unis?

La Loi sur les semences du Canada et son Règlement, administrés par l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments, interdisent l'importation de toutes les variétés de graine des États-Unis à des fins de production commerciale et de vente dans l'Ouest canadien.

Afin d'être admissible au classement dans une classe de blé ou d'orge du Canada, la variété que vous cultivez doit figurer sur les listes des variétés désignées, que la commission canadienne des grains tient à jour. Si vous livrez une variété de blé ou d'orge non enregistrée à un silo agréé au Canada, votre livraison sera admissible au grade réglementaire le plus bas pour cette classe ou au grade fourrager.

Cependant, rien n'empêche un producteur et une société céréalière canadienne de négocier un contrat de livraison de grain fondé sur des critères de qualité ne faisant pas partie du système de classement réglementaire, peu importe la variété.

8. Où puis-je acheter des grains céréaliers, des oléagineux, des pois, des lentilles et des haricots canadiens?

Nous vous proposons une liste d'organisations de producteurs et de commercialisation qui peuvent fournir de l'information et le nom de personnes-ressources avec qui communiquer pour l'achat de grains canadiens.

9. De quoi ai-je besoin pour pouvoir acheter du grain des producteurs de l’Ouest canadien?

Pour être en mesure d’acheter du grain des producteurs de l’Ouest canadien, vous devez être titulaire d’une licence délivrée par la Commission canadienne des grains. Il y a plusieurs étapes à suivre pour demander une licence.

10. Où puis-je trouver de l’information sur les cultures agricoles au Canada?

La Commission canadienne des grains fournit des statistiques sur les grains canadiens, notamment des renseignements sur les silos à grains, les exportations de grains, les livraisons de grains et d’autres sujets connexes.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les cultures agricoles au Canada, notamment sur le blé et le canola, veuillez consulter les sites Web suivants :

11. Où trouver des renseignements sur le séchage du grain en toute sécurité?
12. Où puis-je trouver des renseignements sur les perspectives d'emploi à la Commission canadienne des grains?

Des renseignements sur les perspectives d'emploi au sein de la fonction publique fédérale sont affichés sur le site Web Carrières à la fonction publique fédérale (Commission de la fonction publique du Canada). Vous y trouverez les offres d'emploi et les postes ouverts au public.