ARCHIVED - Red lentil grading changes guided by research

WarningThis web page has been archived on the web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

In 2010, a wet and cool growing season in Western Canada led to an increase in 3 grading issues in red lentils – bleached, copper-coloured and rinkled seeds.

The red lentil industry asked the Western Standards Committee to investigate how these issues affected dehulling and end-use quality.

On August 1, 2012 new grading specifications for red lentils came into effect based on recommendations from the Western Standards Committee. Scientific research, combined with input from Canada’s grain industry, guided the changes in red lentil grades.

Grading issues investigated

Bleached seeds

Bleached seeds have a whitened seed coat that is distinctly faded from the natural red colour of sound lentils. The discoloration must affect the entire seed coat. Lentils having a lighter pink shade that are contrasting with the overall sample are considered sound.

Copper-coloured seeds

Copper-coloured seeds in red lentils have a rust colour that covers both sides of the seed and the entire seed coat. This rust colour contrasts distinctly with the natural red colour of red lentils that are considered sound.

Wrinkled seeds

Wrinkled seeds in red lentils have sharp ridges and pronounced depressions such as folds and indents in the seed coat. Wrinkles may only occur on one side of the lentil. Seeds with dimpled coats or folds that are only seen on the outside of the ring of the seed are considered sound.

Impact on dehulling

Red lentils are mainly processed by being dehulled or split in half. Dehulling involves removing the seed coat and is an important part of processing because it improves the palatability and taste of red lentils and makes cooking red lentils faster.

Processors are concerned with how well or efficiently a red lentil can be dehulled. Bleached, copper-coloured and wrinkled seeds can affect the efficient dehulling of red lentils and the quality of the end product. Quality factors such as bleached, copper-coloured and wrinkled seeds can make dehulling more difficult and could mean greater expense, lost time and lower yield for lentil processors.

Research methods

The Canadian Grain Commission's Industry Services and Grain Research Laboratory looked at the effect of bleached, copper-coloured and wrinkled seeds on the dehulling quality of red lentils.

Sourcing red lentil samples

The first part of the study included sourcing red lentil samples affected by these grading issues. Industry Services inspectors sourced red lentil samples from Western producers through our Harvest Sample Program. From the samples, inspectors manually picked out red lentil seeds that were bleached, copper-coloured or wrinkled and made samples that contained varying levels of severity for each grading factor. The Grain Research Laboratory used these samples to study how each factor affects the dehulling quality of red lentils.

Tempering and dehulling

Each sample underwent the dehulling process. The first step of the dehulling process is tempering, which includes placing the samples in plastic containers. Water was added to each sample to bring the moisture to 12.5%.The containers were then sealed and kept at room temperature for 24 hours. Researchers occasionally shook the containers to ensure equal moisture distribution.

The tempered samples were then processed in a mill to dehull the red lentils, which involves removing the seed coat. The lentils were then put through a sieve and a Carter dockage tester. Researchers separated the materials into 3 different groups: dehulled seeds; seeds that were not successfully dehulled; and broken seeds and any powder that resulted from the milling. Researchers determined the amount of dehulled seeds and came up with percentages to measure how efficiently red lentils could be dehulled with varying amounts of each grading factor.

Research findings and grading changes

Bleached and copper-coloured seeds

samples with more than 5% bleached seeds showed significant difference in dehulling efficiency compared to those with 0%.

Figure 1. Effect of bleached seeds on dehulling efficiency

Chart shows the effect of bleached seeds on dehulling efficiency. Details in table below.

% Bleached seeds Dehulling efficiency (%)
Sample 1 Sample 2 Sample 3
0.0 77.2aFootnote 1 77.9a 73.6a
2.0 76.7a 77.4ab 73.1ab
5.0 76.3ab 77.3ab 73.1ab
10.0 74.9b 76.3bc 72.2bc
20.0 74.5b 75.2cd 71.2cd
30.0 72.9c 74.5d 70.8d

Samples with no copper-coloured seeds had an average of 16% higher dehulling efficiency, compared to samples that had 100% copper-coloured seeds. Samples with more than 2% copper-coloured seeds showed significant difference in dehulling efficiency compared to samples with 0%.

Figure 2. Effect of copper-coloured seeds on dehulling efficiency

Chart shows the effect of copper-coloured seeds on dehulling efficiency. Details in table below.

% Coppered seeds Dehulling efficiency (%)
Sample 4 Sample 5 Sample 6
0.0 72.0aFootnote 1 77.1a 77.9a
2.0 71.4ab 76.5ab 77.7a
5.0 70.4b 75.4b 76.0b
10.0 69.8bc 74.4bc 75.1bc
20.0 67.9c 72.8c 74.3cd
30.0 66.8d 71.6d 73.1d

New grading tolerances for bleached and copper-coloured seeds

The findings for bleached seeds and copper-coloured seeds were used to set the grading tolerances.

Table 1. Tolerances for copper-coloured and bleached seeds for red lentils
Grade name Copper-coloured Total bleached and copper-coloured
No. 1 Canada 1% 3%
No. 2 Canada 3% 10%
Extra No. 3 Canada 10% 25%
No. 3 Canada no limit no limit

Wrinkled seeds

It was observed that wrinkled seeds are more fragile than sound red lentils. The greater the percentage of wrinkled seeds in a sample, the greater the amount of broken seed fractions and powder, leading to a corresponding decrease in dehulling efficiency.

Figure 3. Effect of the level of severity of wrinkled seeds on dehulling efficiency

Chart shows the effect of wrinkled seeds on dehulling efficiency. Details in table below.

Severity Dehulling efficiency (%)
Sample 7 Sample 8 Sample 9
Sound 82.5aFootnote 1 56.7a 80.6a
Light-wrinkled 79.8b 55.9ab 79.6ab
Medium-wrinkled 75.1c 53.7b 78.0b
Severe-wrinkled 70.7d 50.3c 76.2c

New grading tolerances for wrinkled seeds

The findings for wrinkled seeds were used to set the grade tolerances.

Table 2. Tolerances for wrinkled seeds in red lentils
Grade name Damage
Heated (%) Peeled, split and broken (%) Other damage (%) Total damage (%) Wrinkled (%) Total damage including wrinkled (%)
No. 1 Canada 0.2 2 1 2 2 4
No. 2 Canada 0.5 3.5 2 3.5 5 8
Extra No. 3 Canada 0.5 5 5 5 n/a n/a
No. 3 Canada 1 10 10 10 n/a n/a

Did you know?

The Western Standards Committee is made up of grain producers, processors exporters and other members of the grain industry. This group studies and reviews grain grading issues. It is responsible for reviewing Canada's grading system to make sure it continues to be relevant and meets the needs of the grain industry and buyers of Canadian grain. Based on its studies and reviews, the Western Standards Committee makes recommendations to the Canadian Grain Commission for standards and specifications for grain grades.

The Canadian Grain Commission's research, combined with input from Canada's grain industry, guides grade changes for other pulse crops, such as peas and beans, as well as for wheat, barley, oats, canola, flax and other grains.

Definitions

Bleached
Bleaching is an indication of exposure to wet conditions at or near maturity. Bleaching is caused by alternate wetting and drying of grain which causes tiny fissures to develop throughout the kernels. The fissures are caused because the grain swells a little when it is wet and doesn't dry back to the same size.
Copper-coloured
Copper-coloured seeds have a rust color covering both sides of seed and the entire seed coat. The rust colour is in distinct contrast with the natural red colour of sound lentils.
Sample
A sample is a portion of grain taken to represent an entire truckload, carload or cargo.
Wrinkled
Wrinkled seeds are characterized by a seed surface that has sharp ridges and pronounced depressions that could also be described as seed coat folds and indents. Wrinkles may be evident only on one side of the lentil. Lentils that only have dimpled seed coat or folds restricted only to the outside ring of the seed are considered sound.

Request a guide

Red lentil colour guides and wrinkled guides are provided, on request, to grain companies licensed by the Canadian Grain Commission. To receive a red lentil colour or wrinkled guide, please contact:

Daryl Beswitherick
Program Manager, Quality Assurance Service
Canadian Grain Commission
Telephone: 204-983-4627
Email: daryl.beswitherick@grainscanada.gc.ca

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Means within a column with the same letter are not significantly different (p>0.05) as determined using Duncan's multiple range test.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

ARCHIVÉE - Changements au classement des lentilles rouges reposant sur la recherche

WarningCette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

En 2010, la saison de croissance humide et fraîche connue dans l’Ouest canadien a mené à l’augmentation de la fréquence de trois problèmes liés au classement des lentilles rouges, soit les lentilles délavées, cuivréeset ridées.

L’industrie des lentilles rouges a demandé au Comité de normalisation des grains de l’Ouest d’étudier les répercussions possibles de ces facteurs sur le décorticage et la qualité à l’utilisation finale.

Le 1er août 2012, de nouvelles caractéristiques de classement des lentilles rouges sont entrées en vigueur par suite de recommandations formulées par le Comité de normalisation des grains de l’Ouest. La recherche scientifique ainsi que la contribution de l’industrie canadienne du grain ont orienté les changements apportés aux grades de lentilles rouges.

Enjeux relatifs au classement ayant fait l'objet d'études

Lentilles délavées

Le tégument des lentilles délavées affiche une couleur blanchie distinctement décolorée par rapport à la couleur rouge naturelle des lentilles saines. La décoloration doit toucher le tégument entier. Les lentilles d'une couleur rose pâle qui contrastent avec l'ensemble de l'échantillon sont considérées comme étant saines.

Lentilles cuivrées

Les lentilles cuivréesaffichent une couleur rouille des deux côtés de la graine et sur l'ensemble du tégument. La couleur rouille contraste distinctement avec la couleur rouge naturelle des lentilles saines.

Lentilles ridées

Les lentilles ridées sont caractérisées par une surface affichant des crêtes aigues et des creux prononcés, que l'on décrit aussi comme les plis et dépressions sur le tégument. Il est possible que les rides ne soient apparentes que sur un côté de la lentille. Si le tégument affiche des fossettes, ou si les plis ne se trouvent que sur le contour extérieur, les lentilles sont considérées comme étant saines.

Incidence sur le décorticage

La transformation des lentilles rouges consiste principalement à les décortiquer ou à les fendre en deux. Le décorticage, qui consiste à retirer le tégument, est une partie importante de la transformation, car il permet d'améliorer la palatabilité et le goût des lentilles rouges et de diminuer leur temps de cuisson.

Les transformateurs se préoccupent de l'efficacité avec laquelle les lentilles rouges peuvent être décortiquées. La présence de lentilles délavées, cuivréeset ridées peut avoir une incidence sur l'efficacité du décorticage des lentilles rouges et la qualité du produit final. Des facteurs de qualité comme la présence de lentilles délavées, cuivrées et ridées peuvent rendre le décorticage plus difficile, ce qui peut se traduire par des coûts plus élevés, une perte de temps et un rendement plus faible pour les transformateurs de lentilles.

Méthodes de recherche

Le personnel des Services à l'industrie et du Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains de la Commission canadienne des grains s'est penché sur l'incidence de la présence de lentilles délavées, cuivréeset ridées sur l'efficacité du décorticage des lentilles rouges.

Obtention d'échantillons de lentilles rouges

La première partie de l'étude consistait à obtenir des échantillons de lentilles rouges touchés par ces problèmes liés au classement. Les inspecteurs des Services à l'industrie ont obtenu des échantillons de lentilles rouges auprès des producteurs de l'Ouest, dans le cadre du Programme d'échantillons de récolte. Des échantillons de lentilles rouges, les inspecteurs ont retiré à la main les lentilles délavées, cuivréeset ridées et ont ensuite préparé des échantillons présentant divers degrés de sévérité pour chacun des facteurs de classement. Le personnel du Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains a utilisé ces échantillons pour étudier la façon dont chaque facteur touche l'efficacité du décorticage des lentilles rouges.

Conditionnement et décorticage

Chaque échantillona été soumis au processus de décorticage. La première étape du processus est le conditionnement, qui nécessite que les échantillons soient placés dans des contenants de plastique. On a ajouté de l'eau à chaque échantillon, de façon à ce que la teneur en eau atteigne 12,5 %. Les contenants ont ensuite été scellés et conservés à la température ambiante pendant 24 heures. Les chercheurs ont remué les contenants à l'occasion, afin d'assurer une répartition uniforme de l'humidité.

Les échantillons conditionnés ont ensuite été passés au moulin afin de décortiquer les lentilles rouges, c'est-à-dire en retirer le tégument. Les lentilles ont ensuite été passées au tamis et au tarare Carter. Les chercheurs ont séparé les matières en trois groupes distincts : graines décortiquées, graines non décortiquées, graines cassées et poudre résultant du passage au moulin. Les chercheurs ont déterminé le nombre de graines décortiquées et ont calculé les pourcentages permettant de mesurer l'efficacité du décorticage des lentilles rouges en présence de diverses quantités de graines représentant chaque facteur de classement.

Résultats de recherche et changements au classement

Lentilles délavées et cuivrées

Le taux d'efficacité du décorticage des échantillons contenant pus de 5 % de lentilles délavées présentait une différence significative par rapport à celui des échantillons ne contenant aucune lentille délavée.

Figure 1. Incidence de la présence de lentilles délavées sur l'efficacité du décorticage

Diagramme montrant que l'efficacité du décorticage diminue plus il y a de lentilles délavées.

% de lentilles délavées Efficacité du décorticage (%)
Échantillon 1 Échantillon 2 Échantillon 3
0,0 77,2aNote de bas de page 1 77,9a 73,6a
2,0 76,7a 77,4ab 73,1ab
5,0 76,3ab 77,3ab 73,1ab
10,0 74,9b 76,3bc 72,2bc
20,0 74,5b 75,2cd 71,2cd
30,0 72,9c 74,5d 70,8d

En moyenne, le taux d'efficacité du décorticage des échantillons ne contenant aucune lentille cuivrée était de 16 % plus élevé comparativement à celui des échantillons entièrement composés de lentilles cuivrées. Le taux d'efficacité du décorticage des échantillons contenant plus de 2 % de lentilles cuivrées présentait une différence significative par rapport à celui des échantillons ne contenant aucune lentille cuivrée.

Figure 2. Incidence de la présence de lentilles cuivréessur l'efficacité du décorticage

Diagramme montrant que l'efficacité du décorticage diminue plus il y a de lentilles cuivrées.

% de lentilles cuivrées Efficacité du décorticage (%)
Échantillon 4 Échantillon 5 Échantillon 6
0,0 72,0aNote de bas de page 1 77,1a 77,9a
2,0 71,4ab 76,5ab 77,7a
5,0 70,4b 75,4b 76,0b
10,0 69,8bc 74,4bc 75,1bc
20,0 67,9c 72,8c 74,3cd
30,0 66,8d 71,6d 73,1d

Nouvelles tolérances visant les lentilles délavées et cuivrées

Les conclusions relatives aux lentilles délavées et cuivrées ont servi à établir les seuils de tolérance des grades.

Tableau 1. Tolérances visant les lentilles cuivréeset les lentilles délavées dans les lentilles rouges
Nom de grade Cuivrées Total, cuivrées et délavées
Canada no 1 1 % 3 %
Canada no 2 3 % 10 %
Extra, Canada no 3 10 % 25 %
Canada no 3 aucune limite aucune limite

Lentilles ridées

On a observé que les lentilles ridées sont plus fragiles que les lentilles rouges saines. Plus le pourcentage de lentilles ridées est élevé dans un échantillon, plus on y trouve de particules et de poudre de graines cassées, ce qui indique une diminution de l'efficacité du décorticage.

Figure 3. Effet du degré de sévérité des lentilles ridées sur l'efficacité du décorticage

Diagramme montrant que l'efficacité du décorticage diminue plus les lentilles sont ridées.

Sévérité Efficacité du décorticage (%)
Échantillon 7 Échantillon 8 Échantillon 9
Non ridées 82,5aNote de bas de page 1 56,7a 80,6a
Légèrement ridées 79,8b 55,9ab 79,6ab
Modérément ridées 75,1c 53,7b 78,0b
Fortement ridées 70,7d 50,3c 76,2c

Nouvelles tolérances visant les lentilles ridées

Les conclusions relatives aux lentilles ridées ont servi à établir les seuils de tolérance des grades.

Tableau 2. Tolérances visant les lentilles ridées dans les lentilles rouges
Nom de grade Dommages
Échauffées (%) Pelées, fendues et cassées (%) Autres dommages (%) Total, dommages (%) Ridées (%) Total, dommages, y compris ridées (%)
Canada no 1 0,2 2 1 2 2 4
Canada no 2 0,5 3,5 2 3,5 5 8
Extra, Canada no 3 0,5 5 5 5 s.o. s.o.
Canada no 3 1 10 10 10 s.o. s.o.

Le saviez-vous?

Le Comité de normalisation des grains de l'Ouest est composé de producteurs, de transformateurs et d'exportateurs de grain et d'autres membres de l'industrie du grain. Le groupe étudie et examine les enjeux relatifs au classement du grain. Il est chargé de réviser le système de classement canadien afin qu'il demeure pertinent et continue de répondre aux besoins du secteur céréalier et des acheteurs de grain canadien. En se fondant sur ses études et examens, le Comité de normalisation des grains de l'Ouest recommande des normes et caractéristiques relatives aux grades de grain à la Commission canadienne des grains.

La recherche menée par la Commission canadienne des grains et la contribution de l'industrie canadienne du grain orientent les changements apportés aux grades d'autres légumineuses, comme les pois et les haricots, ainsi qu'aux grades de blé, d'orge, d'avoine, de canola, de lin et d'autres grains.

Définitions

Échantillon
Quantité de grain prélevé à titre représentatif du grain chargé dans un camion, dans un wagon ou dans une cale.
Lentilles cuivrées
Les lentilles cuivrées affichent une couleur rouille des deux côtés de la graine et sur l'ensemble du tégument. La couleur rouille contraste distinctement avec la couleur rouge naturelle des lentilles saines.
Lentilles délavées
Le tégument des lentilles délavées affiche une couleur blanchie distinctement décolorée par rapport à la couleur rouge naturelle des lentilles saines. La décoloration doit toucher le tégument entier. Les lentilles d'une couleur rose pâle qui contrastent avec l'ensemble de l'échantillon sont considérées comme étant saines.
Lentilles ridées
Les lentilles ridées sont caractérisées par une surface affichant des crêtes aigues et des creux prononcés, que l'on décrit aussi comme les plis et dépressions sur le tégument. Il est possible que les rides ne soient apparentes que sur un côté de la lentille. Si le tégument affiche des fossettes, ou si les plis ne se trouvent que sur le contour extérieur, les lentilles sont considérées comme étant saines.

Demande de guide

Les compagnies agréées par la Commission canadienne des grains peuvent obtenir un guide de couleur ou un guide pour les lentilles ridées (lentilles rouges), sur demande. Pour obtenir un guide, veuillez communiquer avec :

Daryl Beswitherick
Gestionnaire de programme, Normes d'assurance-qualité
Commission canadienne des grains
Téléphone : 204-983-4627
Courriel : daryl.beswitherick@grainscanada.gc.ca

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Les moyennes des colonnes affichant la même lettre ne présentent pas d'écart significatif (p>0.05), ce qui a été déterminé à l'aide du test de comparaisons multiples de Duncan.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1