Grain grading in Canada

Grain grades

In Canada, grain grades are a tool used to define the quality of grain. Grades relate to a grain's end-use quality, meaning grades relate to how grain characteristics affect performance during processing (e.g. how much flour is produced during milling) or the quality of the end product (e.g. texture of cooked pasta).

Grades are a part of transactions in the Canadian grain industry. That is, a producer receives payment based on the grade of grain delivered. A grain dealer receives payment from a domestic or export customer based on the grade of grain being sold.

Under the Canada Grain Act, the Canadian Grain Commission is responsible for establishing and maintaining Canada’s grain grading system.

Most countries that grow, export or import grain use grain grades.

Contract specifications and grain grades

Customers of Canadian grain can buy grain based on grade or they can use contract specifications. While the Canadian Grain Commission establishes and regulates the grain grading system in Canada, we do not require producers or grain dealers to use grades during transactions. Contract specifications may be used to specify quality beyond that offered by the grading system.

Grading factors

Grades are assigned based on a sample’s ability to meet tolerances for various grading factors. A grading factor represents the physical condition of grain. This condition can be a result of growing conditions,  handling procedures or storage practices. A grading factor is a visual characteristic that indicates a reduction in quality.

Example: Sprout damage

Sprout damage is a grading factor in wheat. Sprout damage happens when wheat kernels begin to germinate before harvesting. When this happens, the kernels release an enzyme called alpha-amylase, which breaks down the starch in the kernel.

When sprouted kernels are milled, the flour holds less water when it’s mixed, and the dough absorbs less water during baking. This means that a baker must use more flour to make the same number of loaves of bread. As well, bread made from sprouted kernels is gummy, making it hard to slice. Additionally, affected bread is less attractive to customers.

Setting and changing grain grades

Grain grades in Canada are set or changed only after careful consideration and research. While the system is flexible enough to meet the changing needs of producers, industry and customers, it is also stable and reliable.

The Canadian Grain Commission sets standards and specifications for grades of grain based on recommendations from the Eastern Standards Committee and the Western Standards Committee. Each committee is made up of grain producers, representatives of the Canadian Grain Commission and Agriculture and Agri-food Canada, grain handlers, processors and exporters.

Briefly, a grading issue is brought forward to one of the standards committees for discussion. After discussions about the potential effect of the issue on Canada’s grain industry or its customers, the committee may recommend further study. Once research and consultation is complete, the committee may recommend that the Canadian Grain Commission change its current grading tolerances.

Example: Fusarium-damaged kernels

Adjustments to tolerances for Fusarium-damaged kernels in wheat were made in 2011.

Fusarium damage results in thin or shrunken, chalk-like kernels. It is caused by Fusarium graminearum, a fungus that infects wheat. Fusarium graminearum contains deoxynivalenol (DON), which is toxic to both humans and animals.

Tolerances for Fusarium-damaged kernels were adjusted because research conducted by the Canadian Grain Commission found that a new strain of Fusarium graminearum contained more deoxynivalenol than other strains. This meant that the relationship between Fusarium damage and levels of deoxynivalenol was no longer accurate. Tolerances needed to be adjusted so that wheat shipments continued to meet customer tolerances.

Related information

Classement des grains au Canada

Grades de grain

Au Canada, les grades de grain définissent la qualité du grain. Les grades désignent la qualité finale d’un grain, c’est-à-dire la manière dont les caractéristiques du grain influent sur le rendement durant le traitement (la quantité de farine produite durant la mouture, par exemple) ou la qualité du produit final (la texture de la pâte cuite, par exemple).

Les grades sont au cœur des transactions de l’industrie du grain au Canada. Ainsi, un producteur reçoit son paiement selon le grade du grain livré. Un négociant en grains reçoit le paiement d’un client national ou étranger selon le grade du grain vendu.

En vertu de la Loi sur les grains du Canada, la Commission canadienne des grains a la responsabilité d’établir et de tenir à jour le système de classement des grains au Canada.

La plupart des pays producteurs, exportateurs ou importateurs de grains utilisent des grades.

Exigences contractuelles et grades de grain

Les acheteurs peuvent se procurer du grain canadien en fonction du grade ou d’exigences contractuelles. Bien que la Commission canadienne des grains établisse et réglemente le système de classement des grains au Canada, elle n’exige pas des producteurs ou des négociants qu’ils utilisent les grades dans le cadre de leurs transactions. Les exigences contractuelles peuvent servir à préciser les qualités recherchées, ce que le système de classement ne permet pas.

Facteurs de classement

Les grades sont attribués en fonction de l’aptitude d’un échantillon à respecter les tolérances des divers facteurs de classement. Un facteur de classement représente l’état physique du grain. Cet état peut être le résultat des conditions de culture, des procédures de manutention ou des méthodes d’entreposage. Un facteur de classement est une caractéristique visible qui indique une réduction de la qualité.

Exemple : grains germés

La germination des grains constitue un facteur de classement du blé. Les dommages surviennent lorsque les grains de blé commencent à germer avant leur récolte. À ce moment, les grains libèrent une enzyme appelée alpha-amylase, qui décompose l’amidon contenu dans le grain.

La capacité d’absorption de l’eau de la farine tirée des grains germés est inférieure, et la pâte qu’on en fabrique retient moins d’eau durant la cuisson. Le boulanger doit donc utiliser plus de farine pour faire le même nombre de pains. De plus, le pain fabriqué à partir de cette farine est collant, difficile à trancher et moins attrayant pour le consommateur.

Établissement et modification des grades de grain

Au Canada, les grades de grain sont établis ou modifiés après un examen attentif et des recherches approfondies. Bien que le système soit assez souple pour répondre aux besoins changeants des producteurs, de l’industrie et des consommateurs, il est également stable et fiable.

La Commission canadienne des grains établit les normes et les caractéristiques des grades de grain en fonction des recommandations formulées par le Comité de normalisation des grains de l’Est et le Comité de normalisation des grains de l’Ouest. Chaque comité se compose de producteurs de grains, de représentants de la Commission canadienne des grains et d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada ainsi que de manutentionnaires, de transformateurs et d’exportateurs de grains.

En bref, un enjeu relatif au classement est porté à l’attention de l’un des comités de normalisation, qui en discutera. Après les discussions sur l’effet potentiel de l’enjeu sur l’industrie du grain au Canada ou ses clients, le comité peut recommander une étude plus approfondie. À la suite des recherches et des consultations, le comité peut recommander que la Commission canadienne des grains change les tolérances actuelles du système de classement.

Exemple : grains fusariés

Le seuil de tolérance pour les grains de blé endommagés par la fusariose a été modifié en 2011.

Les grains de blé fusariés se caractérisent normalement par des grains minces ou échaudés d’apparence crayeuse. La fusariose est causée par le Fusarium graminearum, champignon qui infecte le blé. Celui-ci contient du désoxynivalénol (DON), une substance toxique tant pour les humains que pour les animaux.

Les seuils de tolérance s’appliquant aux grains fusariés ont été ajustés, car les résultats des recherches menées par la Commission canadienne des grains ont révélé qu’une nouvelle souche du Fusarium graminearum contenait une quantité accrue de désoxynivalénol par rapport aux autres souches. Cela signifiait que la relation entre la quantité de grains fusarisés et la teneur en désoxynivalénol n’était plus exacte. Il fallait donc rajuster les seuils de tolérance afin que les chargements de blé respectent les seuils établis par les clients.

Information pertinente