Stakeholder feedback on potential uses for accumulated surplus

Discussion period: March 1 to May 1, 2017

This summary provides a review of comments the Canadian Grain Commission received from stakeholders during our discussion on potential uses for the accumulated surplus, which concluded on May 1, 2017.

Consideration of potential proposals for using the accumulated surplus is a separate process from the consultation on Canadian Grain Commission user fees for the 2018 to 2023 fee cycle.

Stakeholder comments will be evaluated and taken into consideration as we move forward with identifying a proposal, or proposals, that will maximize value for producers and the industry. The Canadian Grain Commission does not have independent authority to spend the accumulated surplus. We are working closely with Treasury Board Secretariat, Justice Canada, the Department of Finance, and Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada in considering all aspects. Prior to carrying out any proposal, stakeholders may have further opportunity to provide input.


1. Discussion process

On March 1, 2017, we released our discussion document, Potential Use of Accumulated Surplus, which provided several high-level proposals for using the surplus and their associated considerations.

This document was emailed directly to industry and producer stakeholders, including all Canadian Grain Commission licensees, producer organizations, industry associations and relevant government organizations. At the same time, a news release was issued. The document was posted on this website.

The consultation document was accessed over 1,000 times between March 1 and May 1, 2017. A total of 92 formal written submissions were received, including 56 form letters.

2. General comments

In general, the vast majority of stakeholders said that the Canadian Grain Commission’s accumulated surplus should be directed towards activities that deliver clear benefits to producers. Stakeholders said producers should have input into how the surplus is used since they represent the primary source of the surplus fee recovery.

Many stakeholders recognized the value of investing in infrastructure and in the future. However, some stakeholders disagreed with using the surplus to fund proposals that would require capital investment because user fees were not explicitly collected for that purpose. They said that appropriation funds would be more appropriate.

Many stakeholders also said that the surplus should be used for only one initiative and that funding various proposals could diminish any meaningful impact to the sector.

3. Feedback on suggested uses of available surplus

Highlighted below are the prevalent stakeholder comments on information as presented in the discussion document.

Surplus reserve requirement

Stakeholders acknowledged the business rationale behind an operating contingency reserve, but a number of them questioned the magnitude of the Canadian Grain Commission’s planned operating contingency reserve. Furthermore, some stakeholders said that no surplus funds should be devoted to an operating reserve. They also suggested a comprehensive analysis of Canadian Grain Commission business operating risks to determine a more appropriate operating reserve.

Investing in producers and the industry

1. Provide initial funding for a Producer Compensation Fund

A few stakeholders supported using some of the accumulated surplus to enhance the Canadian Grain Commission’s Producer Protection Program and increase its effectiveness for producers. They recognized the potential sector benefits of a Producer Compensation Fund model, but said that further industry consultation is required on fund design prior to any program changes.

At the same time, a large number of stakeholders did not support investing the surplus in a Producer Compensation Fund. They said that this type of model could unfairly benefit new or less financially stable licensees and could lead to an overall increase in high-risk behavior by licensees

2. Reduce Canadian Grain Commission prescribed fees for a fixed period of time

The majority of stakeholders supported using the entire surplus, minus a reasonable contingency reserve requirement, to reduce user fees over the 2018 to 2023 user fees cycle. Proposals for actual implementation of a reduction varied. Some stakeholders suggested setting fees to zero for a set time period to quickly drawdown the surplus, while a large number supported an equal per year fee reduction over the 2018 to 2023 period.

A number of stakeholders, however, did not support this proposal. They said that it is unlikely fee reductions would translate into increased profits for producers; instead any savings would be absorbed by grain companies. A fee reduction, they said, would not result in any meaningful long-term solutions to current concerns in the sector.

Investing in infrastructure and the future

In general, many stakeholders recognized the value of investing in infrastructure and in the future. Those that supported using a portion of the surplus for these types of initiatives stated that any investments must clearly add value for producers.

1. Upgrade the Canadian Grain Commission Grain Research Laboratory, office space and base building systems

A large number of stakeholders identified the clear value of the Grain Research Laboratory and the importance of maintaining a modern infrastructure at the Canadian Grain Commission.

2. Establish laboratories and real-time analytical testing at licensed terminal elevators or other locations to improve and enhance services to the industry

Some stakeholders voiced support for investing in laboratories and real-time analytical testing at additional locations. They said that it is in the best interests of producers to invest in the future by positioning the grain sector to be competitive and profitable in the long term. However, many stakeholders also said that project or business plans must be developed for stakeholder input prior to any type of infrastructure investment to ensure that there is a proven direct benefit for producers.

4. Alternative uses proposed by stakeholders

In addition to the proposals presented in the discussion document, stakeholders also provided alternative proposals for using the accumulated surplus.

1. Return surplus to producers

Many stakeholders said producers should be directly refunded for the surplus because they are the ones who ultimately paid the Canadian Grain Commission service fees that contributed to the surplus. A number of them recognized the impractical administrative challenge of this action and, as an alternative, supported reducing user fees over a fixed time period. Fifty-six form letters were received from producers calling for a direct refund of the surplus.

2. Modernize services

It was suggested that the surplus be used for initiatives to modernize Canadian Grain Commission services in order to add value for producers and improve Canada’s competitiveness. Proposals included:

  • updating the grain grading and standards system
  • developing improved market information
  • implementing 24/7 vessel loading
  • improving monitoring and grade validation during vessel loading
  • improving producer grain grading services
  • developing better mycotoxin testing procedures
  • implementing dispute resolution services
  • investing in promotional activities to increase awareness of the Harvest Sample Program
  • improving the ‘Subject to Grade and Dockage’ service

3. Audit industry equipment and grading assessments

It was proposed that a portion of the surplus be used to implement a pilot program for random auditing of grain company dockage machines and producer delivery sample assessments and if warranted, the Canadian Grain Commission should implement full-time auditors.

4. Support plant breeding

It was suggested that a portion of the surplus be provided to breeders of new crop varieties in order to discontinue the practice of royalty charging.

5. Purchase new railway cars

It was proposed that the surplus be used to purchase new railway cars to replace the aging fleet; these railway cars would be owned by producers.

Date modified:

Commentaires des intervenants sur l’utilisation possible de l’excédent accumulé

Le présent document se veut un résumé des commentaires formulés par les intervenants dans le cadre du processus de consultation sur l’utilisation possible de l’excédent accumulé, qui a pris fin le 1er mai 2017.

L’étude des propositions possibles concernant l’utilisation de l’excédent accumulé est un processus distinct de la consultation sur les frais d’utilisation de la Commission canadienne des grains pour le cycle des frais d’utilisation de 2018 à 2023.

Nous évaluerons les commentaires des intervenants et nous en tiendrons compte tandis que nous tentons de cerner une ou des propositions permettant d’optimiser la valeur pour les producteurs et l’industrie. La Commission canadienne des grains n’a pas le pouvoir indépendant de dépenser l’excédent accumulé. Nous travaillons en étroite collaboration avec le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, Justice Canada, le ministère des Finances, et Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada à l’examen de tous les aspects. Les intervenants pourraient avoir une autre occasion de formuler des commentaires avant la mise en œuvre de toute proposition.


1. Processus de discussion

Le 1er mars 2017, nous avons publié le document de discussion intitulé Utilisation possible de l’excédent accumulé, qui présentait plusieurs suggestions générales quant à l’utilisation de l’excédent, avec les considérations correspondantes.

Ce document a été transmis par courriel aux producteurs et aux intervenants de l’industrie, notamment aux titulaires de licence de la Commission canadienne des grains, aux groupes de producteurs, aux associations de l’industrie et aux organismes gouvernementaux concernés. Un communiqué de presse a été publié en parallèle. Le document a été publié sur le présent site Web.

Le document de discussion a été consulté plus de 1000 fois au cours de la période du 1er mars au 1er mai 2017. Au total, la Commission a reçu 92 soumissions écrites officielles, dont 56 lettres types.

2. Commentaires généraux

En général, la grande majorité des intervenants estime que l’excédent accumulé de la Commission canadienne des grains devrait être investi dans des activités qui apportent des avantages clairs aux producteurs. Les intervenants affirment que les producteurs devraient avoir leur mot à dire sur l’utilisation de l’excédent, puisqu’ils constituent la source première des droits de recouvrement des coûts à l’origine de l’excédent.

De nombreux intervenants reconnaissent la valeur des investissements dans l’infrastructure et l’avenir. Toutefois, certains ne sont pas d’accord pour se servir de l’excédent afin de financer des propositions de dépenses en immobilisations, étant donné que les droits n’ont pas été explicitement prélevés à cette fin. Ceux-là affirment que des crédits seraient une solution plus appropriée.

Bon nombre d’intervenants déclarent également que l’excédent devrait être investi dans une seule initiative et que sa répartition sur plusieurs propositions risquerait de réduire l’ampleur de ses effets concrets sur le secteur.

3. Commentaires sur les utilisations suggérées de l’excédent

Exigences concernant la réserve excédentaire

Les intervenants reconnaissent la justification financière d’une réserve de fonctionnement, mais plusieurs remettent en question la taille de la réserve de fonctionnement planifiée pour éventualités diverses de la Commission canadienne des grains. Certains soutiennent même qu’aucune part de l’excédent ne devrait être affectée à une réserve de fonctionnement. Ils suggèrent en outre une analyse approfondie des risques opérationnels de la Commission canadienne des grains, afin de déterminer l’assiette d’une réserve de fonctionnement plus appropriée.

Investir dans les producteurs et l’industrie

1. Fournir le financement initial d’un fonds d’indemnisation des producteurs

Quelques intervenants appuient l’utilisation d’une part de l’excédent accumulé pour améliorer le Programme de protection des producteurs de la Commission canadienne des grains, afin de le rendre plus efficace pour les producteurs. Ils reconnaissent les avantages éventuels pour le secteur du modèle d’un fonds d’indemnisation des producteurs, mais estiment qu’il faudrait consulter davantage l’industrie sur la conception du fonds avant d’apporter quelque changement que ce soit au programme.

Nombre d’intervenants, au contraire, ne sont pas favorables à l’investissement de l’excédent dans un tel fonds. Ils soutiennent que ce type de modèle pourrait entraîner un avantage inéquitable pour les titulaires de licence agréés récemment ou peu stables financièrement, avec le risque de mener à une recrudescence de comportements à haut risque de la part des titulaires de licence.

2. Réduire les frais prescrits de la Commission canadienne des grains pendant une période déterminée

La majorité des intervenants appuient l’utilisation de la totalité de l’excédent, moins une réserve raisonnable pour éventualités, en vue de réduire les frais d’utilisation pour la période de 2018 à 2023. Les propositions visant la mise en œuvre concrète de la réduction sont variées. Certains suggèrent de fixer les droits à zéro sur une période donnée pour résorber rapidement l’excédent, alors que beaucoup d’autres privilégient une réduction annuelle répartie également au cours de la période de 2018 à 2023.

Plusieurs intervenants, toutefois, ne sont pas favorables à cette proposition. Ceux-là affirment qu’il est peu probable que des réductions des droits se traduisent en une hausse des bénéfices des producteurs; les économies seraient plutôt absorbées par les compagnies céréalières. Selon eux, une réduction des droits n’apporterait aucune solution à long terme valide aux problèmes que connaît actuellement le secteur.

Investir dans l’infrastructure et l’avenir

En général, de nombreux intervenants reconnaissent la valeur des investissements dans l’infrastructure et l’avenir. Ceux qui appuient l’utilisation d’une partie de l’excédent dans des initiatives de cette nature remarquent que tout investissement doit clairement apporter de la valeur aux producteurs.

1. Mettre à niveau le Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains de la Commission canadienne des grains, les locaux de bureau et les systèmes de l’immeuble de base

De nombreux intervenants insistent sur la valeur du Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains et sur l’importance de maintenir une infrastructure moderne à la Commission canadienne des grains.

2. Établir des laboratoires et des essais analytiques en temps réel aux silos terminaux agréés ou à d’autres endroits pour améliorer les services à l’industrie

Certains intervenants expriment leur soutien à l’égard d’un investissement dans des laboratoires et des essais analytiques en temps réel en davantage de lieux. Ils affirment qu’il est dans l’intérêt des producteurs d’investir dans l’avenir en positionnant le secteur céréalier pour le rendre concurrentiel et rentable à long terme. Ils sont également nombreux, toutefois, à estimer qu’il faudrait élaborer des plans de projet ou d’affaires et les soumettre aux intervenants avant de procéder à tout type d’investissement dans l’infrastructure, afin d’assurer un avantage direct démontré pour les producteurs.

4. Autres utilisations proposées par les intervenants

1. Rendre l’excédent aux producteurs

Ils sont nombreux à suggérer de rembourser l’excédent directement aux producteurs, étant donné que ce sont leurs droits versés en trop à la Commission canadienne des grains qui sont à l’origine de cette somme. Un certain nombre reconnaissent toutefois la difficulté administrative de cette démarche et privilégient plutôt la réduction des droits sur une période donnée. Nous avons reçu 56 lettres types de producteurs appelant à un remboursement direct de l’excédent.

2. Modernisation des services

Il est suggéré d’utiliser l’excédent à des initiatives de modernisation des services de la Commission canadienne des grains pour apporter de la valeur aux producteurs et améliorer la compétitivité du Canada. Voici les propositions reçues à ce sujet :

  • actualiser le système de classification et de normalisation des grains;
  • améliorer l’information commerciale offerte;
  • mettre en œuvre le chargement des navires 24 heures par jour, tous les jours;
  • améliorer la surveillance et la validation des grades lors du chargement des navires;
  • améliorer les services de classement des grains offerts aux producteurs;
  • élaborer de meilleures méthodes de dépistage des mycotoxines;
  • améliorer les services de résolution des litiges;
  • investir dans des activités promotionnelles pour mieux faire connaître le Programme d’échantillons de récolte;
  • améliorer le service aux installations primaires combinées.

3. Vérification du matériel de l’industrie et des évaluations du grade

Il est proposé qu’une partie de l’excédent soit utilisé pour financer un programme pilote de vérification aléatoire des machines des compagnies céréalières servant à déterminer le taux d’impuretés et des évaluations du grade du grain livré par les producteurs; le cas échéant, la Commission canadienne des grains devrait employer des vérificateurs à temps plein.

4. Soutien à la sélection des végétaux

Il est suggéré qu’une partie de l’excédent soit versé aux sélectionneurs de nouvelles variétés afin de mettre un terme à la pratique de facturation de droits.

5. Achat de nouveaux wagons

Il est proposé d’utiliser l’excédent pour acheter de nouveaux wagons afin de renouveler le parc vieillissant; ces nouveaux wagons appartiendraient aux producteurs.

Date de modification :